BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Wheels / Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Dangers of powder coating forged aluminum wheels

09-13-2018, 10:28 AM   #1
nothingman
Private NumNuts
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2021 GT4

Garage List
Exclamation Dangers of powder coating forged aluminum wheels

I have been tossing around the idea of powder coating my stock wheels for some time, and just recently started looking for places in my area. I noticed the place I was going to take my wheels indicated they would not coat them because they are forged aluminum. This led me to research information detailing the dangers powder coating forged aluminum wheels. I am by no means an expert in this information, so anyone with more knowledge please chime in.

Our stock 437M wheels are made from T6061 forged aluminum. Forging is the process of forcing a solid billet of aluminum between the forging dies under an extreme amount of pressure. This creates a finished product that is very dense, very strong and therefore can be very light. To increase strength, the wheels are subjected to a high temperature heat treatment between 155-200 deg C (310-400 deg F) in a furnace for several hours - a process called aging or annealing. Manufacturers optimize the annealing process for maximum strength and hardness without degradation.

When powder coating a wheel, the wheel is first cleaned and then typically sandblasted to remove the existing finish (a controversial subject itself regarding whether it weakens the wheel) and prepare it for powder coating. The coating is then typically applied electrostatically and cured in a furnace at approximately 200 deg C (400 deg F) for 20-30 minutes to allow it to flow and form a "skin" finish that is tougher than conventional paint. The concern involves the curing or baking of the coating, which continues the annealing / aging process of the forged aluminum wheel and can actually weaken it.