BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > S55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > Oil pressure—does it come through the canbus?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2022, 10:18 PM   #1
M1500Z
First Lieutenant
M1500Z's Avatar
423
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: a white BMW
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: TX

iTrader: (4)

Oil pressure—does it come through the canbus?

The discussion around oils in another thread has me wondering why I don't get oil pressure readings on my Aim Solo2 DL. I get a ton of other data (neat if not useful) but no oil pressure. In the S55 technical documents, BMW states the S55 uses a sensor that provides absolute oil pressure reading to the DME but that's it.

So my question is, can you get oil pressure through the canbus and if so, how might I get my Solo2 to log it? I attempted to search this a bit and the search kept failing for some reason. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2022, 12:43 PM   #2
M1500Z
First Lieutenant
M1500Z's Avatar
423
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: a white BMW
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: TX

iTrader: (4)

I was able to confirm that with an OBD dongle and BimmerLink that Oil pressure (as well as a ton more data) does appear to come through the canbus, so I called up Aim to ask them about how to add oil-pressure to logging.

Bad-ish news
I spoke with Aim support and they basically said that there isn't an easy method for adding an additional channel to their protocol. It's either use their protocol or use a user-created one (starts from scratch).

Good-ish news
The person I spoke with said they could look at adding that information to their protocol if I can provide some details about the particular channel I'd like added.
  • Arbitration ID (believe this to just be PID)
  • Bit type
  • Bit length

So now, and this is a bit of a side project, I'll see if I can sort it out. It looks like I'll need to figure out how to sniff the canbus and then find the channel for oil pressure to provide the details. There are a couple open-source apps I may be able to use for this and hoping I can either use my enet cable or bluetooth OBD adapter with them.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2022, 02:03 PM   #3
DriftKr6l
Private First Class
39
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Schaumburg, Ill

iTrader: (0)

Good info.
Does anyone make oil press gauge for our cars?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2022, 02:36 PM   #4
Enabled
Lieutenant Colonel
1406
Rep
1,799
Posts

Drives: 328xd Wagon, M2 Competition
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

*Technically, nothing needs to be sniffed. BMW has very robust datalogging of all parameters for these ECUs.
For S55, this is the factory logging that can be done with Tool32 or even Testo:

Argument: STAT_0x4436_WERT
ID: 0x4436
Parameter name: P_oelist_abs (for N55 it's: SWSABMW_pOilAbsltIs)
Full Description: Oil pressure actual value (absolute pressure)
Data Unit: hPa

Unsigned integer (16bit), conversion 1x (no conversion factor)
__________________
-2014 328d Wagon, 8HP. Self-tuned, 270hp/430ft-lbs.
-2019 M2 Competition MT, Alpine White. Self-tuned 560hp
-2016 Mini Cooper S, MT. Many plans.
Others:
-E36 328is. 2000 Z3 Roady. 2003 VW Jetta TDI Manual. Estoril Z3M Coupe.

Last edited by Enabled; 01-18-2022 at 02:50 PM..
Appreciate 3
M1500Z423.00
      01-19-2022, 10:24 AM   #5
N54B30A
Captain
N54B30A's Avatar
Lebanon
224
Rep
699
Posts

Drives: 2021 HS M2C
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (0)

This kit should work https://vargasturbo.com/product/vtt-...ssure-adapter/
__________________
2021 M2C HS DCT
2007 Wedge 335i E92 FBO, Stage 2 LPFP,VTT STG 2+, VTT Shotgun E50 w/ Inlets MT-SOLD
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2022, 10:19 PM   #6
DriftKr6l
Private First Class
39
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Schaumburg, Ill

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54B30A View Post
The goal is to use the S55 factory oil pressure sensor
Appreciate 1
M1500Z423.00
      01-20-2022, 07:27 PM   #7
MR RIZK
Major
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
758
Rep
1,336
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

For a pet project I sniffed the bus via the OBD port while a tool was probing the pressure sensor value. From here worked out which parts of the response holds the data.

As OBD is request/response and not raw canbus not sure if this helps as i'm not across how the AIM device gets its data.

Keep in mind the OBD port is gateway and don't believe you can get the raw canbus frames from this port. To get the raw canbus you need to tap into powertrain canbus line which can be accessed via the FEM. I have a tap into the FEM to get the raw frames etc for another project.

Anyway below is a snippet for the oil pressure via OBD. Line 12 and 13 is the request/response, bold items are the data values and I have highlighted the formula.

You will need to check if this is all correct however based on the value on the tool and what my log was showing it appeared correct.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 5
M1500Z423.00
Enabled1406.00
F87source7245.50
jkoljo57.50
      01-20-2022, 09:01 PM   #8
DriftKr6l
Private First Class
39
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Schaumburg, Ill

iTrader: (0)

Nice .

Now we need to build an interface and make a oil press display 😁


Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
For a pet project I sniffed the bus via the OBD port while a tool was probing the pressure sensor value. From here worked out which parts of the response holds the data.

As OBD is request/response and not raw canbus not sure if this helps as i'm not across how the AIM device gets its data.

Keep in mind the OBD port is gateway and don't believe you can get the raw canbus frames from this port. To get the raw canbus you need to tap into powertrain canbus line which can be accessed via the FEM. I have a tap into the FEM to get the raw frames etc for another project.

Anyway below is a snippet for the oil pressure via OBD. Line 12 and 13 is the request/response, bold items are the data values and I have highlighted the formula.

You will need to check if this is all correct however based on the value on the tool and what my log was showing it appeared correct.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2022, 09:50 PM   #9
MR RIZK
Major
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
758
Rep
1,336
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftKr6l View Post
Nice .

Now we need to build an interface and make a oil press display 😁
When bored about 3 years ago I put together this Arduino based device. Refresh rate needed some work for rpm etc but there is enough info and sample code out there to get started.

__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 2
M1500Z423.00
F87source7245.50
      01-20-2022, 10:27 PM   #10
DriftKr6l
Private First Class
39
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Schaumburg, Ill

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
When bored about 3 years ago I put together this Arduino based device. Refresh rate needed some work for rpm etc but there is enough info and sample code out there to get started.

That's pretty sweet man.
You are right, if the refresh rate was much faster it would be a sweet sports display.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2022, 06:21 PM   #11
M1500Z
First Lieutenant
M1500Z's Avatar
423
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: a white BMW
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: TX

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enabled View Post
*Technically, nothing needs to be sniffed. BMW has very robust datalogging of all parameters for these ECUs.
For S55, this is the factory logging that can be done with Tool32 or even Testo:

Argument: STAT_0x4436_WERT
ID: 0x4436
Parameter name: P_oelist_abs (for N55 it's: SWSABMW_pOilAbsltIs)
Full Description: Oil pressure actual value (absolute pressure)
Data Unit: hPa

Unsigned integer (16bit), conversion 1x (no conversion factor)
I need to pick your brain about how to get this information in either Tool32 or TestO—mein Deutsche ist nicht gut ��. Pretty neat tools (I think, lol).

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
For a pet project I sniffed the bus via the OBD port while a tool was probing the pressure sensor value. From here worked out which parts of the response holds the data.

As OBD is request/response and not raw canbus not sure if this helps as i'm not across how the AIM device gets its data.

Keep in mind the OBD port is gateway and don't believe you can get the raw canbus frames from this port. To get the raw canbus you need to tap into powertrain canbus line which can be accessed via the FEM. I have a tap into the FEM to get the raw frames etc for another project.

Anyway below is a snippet for the oil pressure via OBD. Line 12 and 13 is the request/response, bold items are the data values and I have highlighted the formula.

You will need to check if this is all correct however based on the value on the tool and what my log was showing it appeared correct.
These posts were a big help thus far so thank you—it's saved me a lot of time and prob hassle of buying/dealing with clunky software. I provided this to Aim and they believe we're most of the way there...

Arbitration ID Ox4436
Bit order ?
Bit Length 2 byte
Offset ?
Channel gain ?

While some of these things can be worked out, they said I do need to get the channel gain before I can get a test protocol made and sent to me. Is that something either of you know how to get?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2022, 07:59 PM   #12
MR RIZK
Major
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
758
Rep
1,336
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Happy to be corrected by Enabled but I think the ID 0x4436 is the reference ID within Testo DB tables and not a direct correlation to the arbitration ID you are seeking for oil pressure.

EDIT: found some thread that alluded to the ID from Testo which is derived from the prg files does form part of the data request.
__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 1
M1500Z423.00
      01-25-2022, 02:22 PM   #13
M1500Z
First Lieutenant
M1500Z's Avatar
423
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: a white BMW
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: TX

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
Happy to be corrected by Enabled but I think the ID 0x4436 is the reference ID within Testo DB tables and not a direct correlation to the arbitration ID you are seeking for oil pressure.

EDIT: found some thread that alluded to the ID from Testo which is derived from the prg files does form part of the data request.
Thanks for the update. Link to that thread? I am still trying to figure out how to use TestO to get that info and to see how I can log it.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2022, 05:27 PM   #14
MR RIZK
Major
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
758
Rep
1,336
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Here is a vid to configure a custom job once connected to the car.

__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 1
M1500Z423.00
      01-31-2022, 03:06 PM   #15
M1500Z
First Lieutenant
M1500Z's Avatar
423
Rep
340
Posts

Drives: a white BMW
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: TX

iTrader: (4)

I'll see if I can look at that this evening, if not it'll likely have to wait a little while. I never remember to check YouTube for stuff like that.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST