BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Track Wheels and TPMS

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2020, 07:04 AM   #23
Noel911
Private First Class
72
Rep
111
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2 & 2019 Golf R (Daily)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoomzoommo View Post

Given the above, I think Iím gonna hold off on the sensors.

I reached that conclusion too after thinking about my experience driving my old 1980 911SC track car and E46 M3 street car for the past 20 years on the track. I only knew what tire pressures were when I started a session and depended on my senses to let me know if I was losing pressure. It's interesting how this new technology instills anxiety with these decision (Myself included). I simply went back to my experience and use that...along with a good tire gauge.
Plus it saved me $180 by not having to buy tire pressure gauges.

Good luck!
__________________
---2017 White M2 - Zero Option- 6-Speed Manual---
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2020, 04:01 PM   #24
Zoomzoommo
Enlisted Member
Zoomzoommo's Avatar
30
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Midwest

iTrader: (0)

Update. Mounted the new Apex wheels w/o TPMS a few days ago. Car gives me the TPMS error message, yet I still have full functionality of the various modes. Ready for the track on Saturday/Sunday. Weather forecast not ideal, but Iím ready!
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2020, 02:50 PM   #25
Malakas
Lieutenant
United_States
249
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2c
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoomzoommo View Post
Update. Mounted the new Apex wheels w/o TPMS a few days ago. Car gives me the TPMS error message, yet I still have full functionality of the various modes. Ready for the track on Saturday/Sunday. Weather forecast not ideal, but Iím ready!
Nice! Good info... I think that's the way to go
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2020, 10:17 PM   #26
dvas
Lieutenant
dvas's Avatar
343
Rep
467
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2 - Mineral Gray, 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoomzoommo View Post
Update. Mounted the new Apex wheels w/o TPMS a few days ago. Car gives me the TPMS error message, yet I still have full functionality of the various modes. Ready for the track on Saturday/Sunday. Weather forecast not ideal, but I’m ready!
Thanks for the note.

Just to be crystal clear though, you can turn off all electronics and they stay off without the TPMS?

I don't care about a dash light but run with DTC off or whatever setting has all electronics off with a long press of the DTC button.

Will be mounting new rubber in a few weeks so appreciate your clarification. Thanks.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2020, 11:36 PM   #27
Zoomzoommo
Enlisted Member
Zoomzoommo's Avatar
30
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Midwest

iTrader: (0)

Full off, no issues changing settings! Just the annoying tpms message when I start the car.
Appreciate 1
dvas343.00

      03-22-2020, 08:45 AM   #28
ZM2
Lieutenant Colonel
1092
Rep
1,767
Posts

Drives: 2017 LBB M2
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (0)

I don’t know the exact years, but if you do this with some M2’s the car will drop out of DSC Off mode after some time and go into Comfort mode.

I’ve experienced this myself.

Unless you’re running slicks and want some super low starting pressures, I’m not sure why using TPMS is a problem. Just reset it before you go out.

And, it gives much more accurate info for hot lap pressure adjustments than using a gauge back in the paddock after the rears have cooled off and the front brakes have heat soaked the tires.

Plus, if you decide to go GT3 hunting, you’re able to check the temp of your front outer tire to see when it’s about to start greasing up. That GT3 is just going to get away from us anyways, but we try.

Last edited by ZM2; 03-22-2020 at 08:55 AM..
Appreciate 2
      03-22-2020, 12:34 PM   #29
2020M2Competition
Second Lieutenant
2020M2Competition's Avatar
226
Rep
232
Posts

Drives: Yes
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZM2 View Post
I donít know the exact years, but if you do this with some M2ís the car will drop out of DSC Off mode after some time and go into Comfort mode.

Iíve experienced this myself.

Unless youíre running slicks and want some super low starting pressures, Iím not sure why using TPMS is a problem. Just reset it before you go out.

And, it gives much more accurate info for hot lap pressure adjustments than using a gauge back in the paddock after the rears have cooled off and the front brakes have heat soaked the tires.

Plus, if you decide to go GT3 hunting, youíre able to check the temp of your front outer tire to see when itís about to start greasing up. That GT3 is just going to get away from us anyways, but we try.
+1

I've found the factory TPMS to be an extremely useful feature to have while driving at the track
__________________
2020 BMW M2 Competition - Hockenheim Silver - 6 Speed Manual - Executive Package
763M Wheels - Michelin Cup 2 Tires - Rallyflapz - Goodridge SS Brake Lines - Pagid RSL29 Brake Pads - OP Ti Pad Shims - Ultimate Clutch Pedal - E90 Clutch Slave - Castrol SRF - Akrapovic Evolution Exhaust - BMS OCC - Technic ASD Bypass - MP CF Steering Wheel Trim - MP Floor Mats - Auto Tecknic M1 & M2 Buttons - Fall Line Fire Extinguisher & Bracket
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2020, 01:26 PM   #30
dvas
Lieutenant
dvas's Avatar
343
Rep
467
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2 - Mineral Gray, 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZM2 View Post
I donít know the exact years, but if you do this with some M2ís the car will drop out of DSC Off mode after some time and go into Comfort mode.

Iíve experienced this myself.

Unless youíre running slicks and want some super low starting pressures, Iím not sure why using TPMS is a problem. Just reset it before you go out.

And, it gives much more accurate info for hot lap pressure adjustments than using a gauge back in the paddock after the rears have cooled off and the front brakes have heat soaked the tires.

Plus, if you decide to go GT3 hunting, youíre able to check the temp of your front outer tire to see when itís about to start greasing up. That GT3 is just going to get away from us anyways, but we try.

My issue is that to get to around 34 hot, I need to start at around 24 - 26 cold. I usually successfully reset the system prior to the first session but then the tire temps typically dip too low again requiring a reset, especially when it's cooler out. And I don't always have time to reset it again in between students. Also, I feel like a tool driving in circles in the paddock trying to get the system reset. Would be much easier to just completely avoid the problem.
Appreciate 1
CrashFL111.00

      03-22-2020, 01:46 PM   #31
ZM2
Lieutenant Colonel
1092
Rep
1,767
Posts

Drives: 2017 LBB M2
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvas View Post
My issue is that to get to around 34 hot, I need to start at around 24 - 26 cold. I usually successfully reset the system prior to the first session but then the tire temps typically dip too low again requiring a reset, especially when it's cooler out. And I don't always have time to reset it again in between students. Also, I feel like a tool driving in circles in the paddock trying to get the system reset. Would be much easier to just completely avoid the problem.
I reset mine in the pits before I roll onto the track and the reset is done in a couple laps, no need to do it in the paddock.

I used to see 10psi gains from cold to hot which would give me trouble with certain tires bc the lowest you can start with TPMS is 26-27psi, but since I’ve added the AP fronts and Porsche ducts my tire temps & pressures don’t increase as much, so no issues with TPMS.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2020, 04:51 PM   #32
dvas
Lieutenant
dvas's Avatar
343
Rep
467
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2 - Mineral Gray, 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZM2 View Post
I reset mine in the pits before I roll onto the track and the reset is done in a couple laps, no need to do it in the paddock.

I used to see 10psi gains from cold to hot which would give me trouble with certain tires bc the lowest you can start with TPMS is 26-27psi, but since Iíve added the AP fronts and Porsche ducts my tire temps & pressures donít increase as much, so no issues with TPMS.
Yeah, I've attempted resetting on track but it doesn't always work...which frustrates me to no end.

I'm running with custom cooling ducts but stock brake calipers. I still see a pretty large discrepancy between cold and hot pressures.
Appreciate 1
ZM21092.00

      04-13-2020, 02:37 PM   #33
PLF69
Lieutenant
PLF69's Avatar
Canada
415
Rep
566
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Quebec

iTrader: (0)

I have a second set of OEM wheels with TPMS (came from US) that I want to use for track duties but my car is Canadian and as wheel speed sensor TPMS, anybody knows if I can code it in or is there hardware missing ?
__________________
Toy: 2018 M2
SOLD: 2015 M235i Xdrive M Performance Edition 1/50
SOLD: 2008 135i 550whp
Daily: 2014 Q5 TDI
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST