BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > S55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > *** M2 Competition (S55) support now available with bootmod3 ***

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2019, 06:39 PM   #111
808elise
First Lieutenant
808elise's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: CB E46 and SG E92 M3s
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tokki View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808elise View Post
I didn't have a lot of miles on when I did it. But in comparison it is ridicules. If only my e46 turbo had a responsive mid range like this. I love it! I had DPs installed and went STG2 with GTS and burbles. This was directly after break in service. It burns out in third. I enjoy pulling up to mustangs and camaros and doing third gear burn outs and machine gunning them in my tire smoke with my exhaust. 😁 I'm doing intakes, charcoal delete, and hot/cold charge pipes tomorrow. After that doing custom unresonated mid pipe fashioned after aa pipe with a dump valve. That will give me an additional mode I will dub as "race mode". Next up is turbo upgrade and we will see how clutch holds up.
Are you 6MT or DCT? That sounds like a lot of fun.
Dct.
Appreciate 1
tokki155.50

      01-16-2019, 04:23 PM   #112
proTUNING Freaks
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
proTUNING Freaks's Avatar
3454
Rep
1,647
Posts


Drives: powered by bootmod3
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: www.protuningfreaks.com | www.bootmod3.com

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaVargas View Post
I'm having the same problem with my car. However I'm not being able to flash it back to stock. I'm in contact with support but no solution so far.
Quick update as some have brought this to our attention, flash back to stock M2C DCT TCU has been fixed
Appreciate 1
FSociety3325.00

      01-18-2019, 08:10 PM   #113
DarkOdeus
New Member
5
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: On Order LBB 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Mexico

iTrader: (0)

So just to be clear, no one is having issues running stage 2 with a DP on the stock clutch on the 6mt?

That and overheating are my two concerns as where I live I track my toys in 100+ weather a few times a year.

Is there any reason to wait to do this or is right after break in fine?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2019, 10:18 PM   #114
808elise
First Lieutenant
808elise's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: CB E46 and SG E92 M3s
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkOdeus View Post
So just to be clear, no one is having issues running stage 2 with a DP on the stock clutch on the 6mt?

That and overheating are my two concerns as where I live I track my toys in 100+ weather a few times a year.

Is there any reason to wait to do this or is right after break in fine?
So just to be clear, mine just got intakes and charges pipes too. After midpipe I am positive it will be more than 100hp difference. Doing dyno after midpipe to see where I am, exactly, before VTT turbos and maxpsi crankhub in May.

Everyone I have talked to abt clutch says 650-700whp on stock clutch. M2C is not going to have issues on STG2. No way. Temps have been steady and even turbo upgrade retailers are telling me not needed at 650whp.

Yes u need wait till after break in cause u not suppose to be beating it right now. Just get everything on order:

VRSF DPs, hot/cold charge pipes, and intakes (also consider midpipe). Yes put all that and BM3 on right after break in and enjoy. Not sure turbo upgrade is necessary but I have a screw loose and a 1200whp e46 m3 if that tells u anything and this m2c is a blast in the midrange. Top range could use some love the new turbo will help.

Don't be skurd.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2019, 05:34 PM   #115
HOT M
Private First Class
HOT M's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: 2006 M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Central Coast, California

iTrader: (1)

So I just flashed my car to CS+, first ever and immediately received ‘CC msg Fuel System: Contin. Driving possible.’ Before even running the car. How to remove it and what does it mean?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2019, 07:47 PM   #116
Kuervers
Second Lieutenant
63
Rep
209
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C HS,6sp 16 X5 35i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: lloydminster,ab

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT M View Post
So I just flashed my car to CS+, first ever and immediately received ‘CC msg Fuel System: Contin. Driving possible.’ Before even running the car. How to remove it and what does it mean?
Do an online recode think they might have a fix to stop it from coming up every flash
Appreciate 1
HOT M73.50

      01-20-2019, 01:54 PM   #117
DarkOdeus
New Member
5
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: On Order LBB 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Mexico

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808elise View Post
So just to be clear, mine just got intakes and charges pipes too. After midpipe I am positive it will be more than 100hp difference. Doing dyno after midpipe to see where I am, exactly, before VTT turbos and maxpsi crankhub in May.

Everyone I have talked to abt clutch says 650-700whp on stock clutch. M2C is not going to have issues on STG2. No way. Temps have been steady and even turbo upgrade retailers are telling me not needed at 650whp.

Yes u need wait till after break in cause u not suppose to be beating it right now. Just get everything on order:

VRSF DPs, hot/cold charge pipes, and intakes (also consider midpipe). Yes put all that and BM3 on right after break in and enjoy. Not sure turbo upgrade is necessary but I have a screw loose and a 1200whp e46 m3 if that tells u anything and this m2c is a blast in the midrange. Top range could use some love the new turbo will help.

Don't be skurd.
That's great to hear! I don't have my M2C yet, dealer is offering me a great trade value on my 2013 TTRS but they don't have a M2C in stock nor do they have an allocation yet. Hoping to know more on Monday about how we can get one soon.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2019, 05:15 PM   #118
brad65ford
Private First Class
28
Rep
106
Posts

Drives: 1m
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: fl

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkOdeus View Post
That's great to hear! I don't have my M2C yet, dealer is offering me a great trade value on my 2013 TTRS but they don't have a M2C in stock nor do they have an allocation yet. Hoping to know more on Monday about how we can get one soon.
Interest regarding your trade in, had the rs3 and it was fun. Would have rather had the ttrs.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2019, 08:24 PM   #119
808elise
First Lieutenant
808elise's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: CB E46 and SG E92 M3s
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkOdeus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808elise View Post
So just to be clear, mine just got intakes and charges pipes too. After midpipe I am positive it will be more than 100hp difference. Doing dyno after midpipe to see where I am, exactly, before VTT turbos and maxpsi crankhub in May.

Everyone I have talked to abt clutch says 650-700whp on stock clutch. M2C is not going to have issues on STG2. No way. Temps have been steady and even turbo upgrade retailers are telling me not needed at 650whp.

Yes u need wait till after break in cause u not suppose to be beating it right now. Just get everything on order:

VRSF DPs, hot/cold charge pipes, and intakes (also consider midpipe). Yes put all that and BM3 on right after break in and enjoy. Not sure turbo upgrade is necessary but I have a screw loose and a 1200whp e46 m3 if that tells u anything and this m2c is a blast in the midrange. Top range could use some love the new turbo will help.

Don't be skurd.
That's great to hear! I don't have my M2C yet, dealer is offering me a great trade value on my 2013 TTRS but they don't have a M2C in stock nor do they have an allocation yet. Hoping to know more on Monday about how we can get one soon.
Well worth the wait!
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 01:08 AM   #120
kvnchu
Private
13
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: z4m
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Diamond Bar, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
same motor
went through several pages but didnt see anything relating to this
Does the bm3 work with non US spec cars? Car is based in Asia. Thanks.
__________________
Currently Driving:
BMW M2C '19
BMW M3 '11
Caterham S3 '01
Suzuki GSX-R750 '07
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 02:05 AM   #121
Lukeni
Private First Class
54
Rep
160
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvnchu View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
same motor
went through several pages but didnt see anything relating to this
Does the bm3 work with non US spec cars? Car is based in Asia. Thanks.
It does
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 10:27 AM   #122
HOT M
Private First Class
HOT M's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: 2006 M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Central Coast, California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuervers View Post
Do an online recode think they might have a fix to stop it from coming up every flash
done that all is good, thank you very much.
__________________
2019 M2C Sunset Orange/Black (CF mirror caps, diffuser and rear spoiler, Vorsteiner V-FF 101 Patina Bronze wheels)
2006 Z4 M Roadster, Silver Grey/Black (Evolve tune, Ground Control coilover kit, RE Diablos exhaust, BMW M performance strut brace and pedals)
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 07:37 PM   #123
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3325
Rep
7,241
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT M View Post
So I just flashed my car to CS+, first ever and immediately received ‘CC msg Fuel System: Contin. Driving possible.’ Before even running the car. How to remove it and what does it mean?
I've seen this sometimes right when it's done flashing but I just let the car go to sleep and never needed an online recode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT M View Post
done that all is good, thank you very much.
For anyone else, this can popup but just follow the on-screen instructions and let the car go to sleep for at least 30 seconds when dashboard is full black!
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2: 10.21@138mph --
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1: 10.8@127mph --

IG: bmw_F9XM
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2019, 06:50 AM   #124
Spare°
Private First Class
Spare°'s Avatar
Belgium
226
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Any news on the possibility to 'GTS flash' the DCT?
Upon my unsuccessful flash (couple of months ago), I was told that the flash doesn't play nice with the M2C display and we should wait for an update.
Has this been released in the meantime or is this unchanged and could still deliver an issue?

Bootmod3 indicates version 2.0, but no date, so not sure which version I flashed back then.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2019, 03:45 PM   #125
HOT M
Private First Class
HOT M's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: 2006 M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Central Coast, California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spare° View Post
Any news on the possibility to 'GTS flash' the DCT?
Upon my unsuccessful flash (couple of months ago), I was told that the flash doesn't play nice with the M2C display and we should wait for an update.
Has this been released in the meantime or is this unchanged and could still deliver an issue?

Bootmod3 indicates version 2.0, but no date, so not sure which version I flashed back then.

Thanks!
+1
__________________
2019 M2C Sunset Orange/Black (CF mirror caps, diffuser and rear spoiler, Vorsteiner V-FF 101 Patina Bronze wheels)
2006 Z4 M Roadster, Silver Grey/Black (Evolve tune, Ground Control coilover kit, RE Diablos exhaust, BMW M performance strut brace and pedals)
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2019, 10:17 PM   #126
808elise
First Lieutenant
808elise's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: CB E46 and SG E92 M3s
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (1)

U guys are funny we discussed this like one page back.

It's working great. Your going to live it.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2019, 04:31 AM   #127
Spare°
Private First Class
Spare°'s Avatar
Belgium
226
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808elise View Post
U guys are funny we discussed this like one page back.

It's working great. Your going to live it.
Sorry, but it takes more than one random post, from one user to reassure me that this issue is no longer applicable.

If like me you've spent two consecutive days on remote access with the guys from Protuning manually recoding your car due to "limp mode", I suspect you would be somewhat hesitant as well.

On top of that, you have a US car, whilst I have a EU car. As we know, these are not identical (OPF). In fact we discussed this like one page back.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2019, 11:07 AM   #128
proTUNING Freaks
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
proTUNING Freaks's Avatar
3454
Rep
1,647
Posts


Drives: powered by bootmod3
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: www.protuningfreaks.com | www.bootmod3.com

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spare° View Post
Sorry, but it takes more than one random post, from one user to reassure me that this issue is no longer applicable.

If like me you've spent two consecutive days on remote access with the guys from Protuning manually recoding your car due to "limp mode", I suspect you would be somewhat hesitant as well.

On top of that, you have a US car, whilst I have a EU car. As we know, these are not identical (OPF). In fact we discussed this like one page back.
Hi Spare° ,
Sorry if you've missed it or if we weren't clear but the issues with M2C "TCU" flash back to stock were resolved about 2 weeks ago (see earlier post above). No limp mode and OPF/PPF ones are sorted as well.

Only issue remaining is a visual gear indicator display when in normal mode. Due to the updated M2C dash it won't show but its there in manual shift mode. Its a visual/display issue which is resolved when flashed back to stock TCU software if needed. Otherwise no performance issues of any sort once flashed to GTS TCU programming.

Please feel free to email us at support@protuningfreaks.com at any time for any other questions
Appreciate 2
FSociety3325.00
Spare°226.00

      01-30-2019, 12:23 PM   #129
M-Pilot
Brigadier General
M-Pilot's Avatar
United_States
4461
Rep
3,573
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Let's say I flashed it back to stock and locked the DME. What happens when dealership or I update software (I-Step)? Do I just unlock and flash it again? I remember reading somewhere that I need to request a new map in that case due to the updated software. What are the steps for this specific use case? proTUNING Freaks
Appreciate 1
      02-02-2019, 12:32 AM   #130
Cycle Pilot
Second Lieutenant
134
Rep
288
Posts

Drives: 2019 M2C
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rocklin, CA

iTrader: (2)

proTUNING Freaks I'm about to pull the trigger on your tune but was wondering about this article on your site...

BMW F series (N55 / S55 / S63TU) Spark Plugs - What brand and which gap?

Should I replace the stock spark plugs with the NGK 97506 plugs in my S55 if I'm just planning on running a Stage 1 OTS or the OEM CS tune? Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2019, 12:53 AM   #131
FSociety
@BM3Tuning @TristateBM3 @HCP.us
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3325
Rep
7,241
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by cntzl View Post
Let's say I flashed it back to stock and locked the DME. What happens when dealership or I update software (I-Step)? Do I just unlock and flash it again? I remember reading somewhere that I need to request a new map in that case due to the updated software. What are the steps for this specific use case? proTUNING Freaks
Most likely your car is already on latest iStep and if Dealer or you updates the software BM3 will know. If you encounter any issues you can email support@protuningfreaks.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cycle Pilot View Post
proTUNING Freaks I'm about to pull the trigger on your tune but was wondering about this article on your site...

BMW F series (N55 / S55 / S63TU) Spark Plugs - What brand and which gap?

Should I replace the stock spark plugs with the NGK 97506 plugs in my S55 if I'm just planning on running a Stage 1 OTS or the OEM CS tune? Thanks!
U should be fine with stock plugs until you notice a misfire since you will be in STG1 or CS
__________________
F90 M5 BM3Tuning STG2: 10.21@138mph --
F98 X4M TristateBM3 STG1: 10.8@127mph --

IG: bmw_F9XM
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2019, 04:49 AM   #132
Spare°
Private First Class
Spare°'s Avatar
Belgium
226
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

I flashed the car back to stock and locked it, as I had to bring in the car yesterday for a DCT issue for which the dealership needed to do a data read-out. They upgraded the car to the latest DCT software version and either didn't notice or didn't mention anything about any tuning/coding.

So, from personal experience, it seems that for a random check/software upgrade you are unlikely to have any issue with the dealership.
Appreciate 2
Karlosm2c257.50
CSBM51384.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bm3, bootmod3, m2 competition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST