BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > S55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > *** M2 Competition (S55) support now available with bootmod3 ***

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-27-2020, 06:56 PM   #903
M2C_OZ
Private
M2C_OZ's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Masachusetts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRosth View Post
will patch my ECU tomorrow so I can get some of the BM3 fun in the car
Awesome man, ill be doing the same next week
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 12:49 PM   #904
AlpsRider
Colonel
AlpsRider's Avatar
1755
Rep
2,719
Posts

Drives: M2 Competition, LBB, 6MT
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

If I'm not mistaken, I think this video shows how the ECU can be accessed for flashing without being removed from the car. Starting at 2:10.
https://f87.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1706973
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 01:54 PM   #905
MRosth
Private
MRosth's Avatar
Sweden
104
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: M2 Comp
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

You don't need to remove the ecu, remove the charge cooler and then you can access the ECU connections
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2020, 10:13 PM   #906
Horson
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW F36
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: CHINA

iTrader: (0)

What tool to use to unlock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRosth View Post
You don't need to remove the ecu, remove the charge cooler and then you can access the ECU connections
What tool to use to unlock?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2020, 10:41 PM   #907
msdss
Lieutenant
msdss's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
423
Posts

Drives: Alpine White 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horson View Post
What tool to use to unlock?
The same one that the shop uses. You know, the shop you remove the ECU for. Lol
Appreciate 1
      04-13-2020, 05:52 PM   #908
Mdkcrf250r
Private First Class
United_States
72
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

So if I remove my dme for unlock, I can drive it after itís been unlocked but before Iíve tuned with bootmod3?
Also, after Iíve had it unlocked I can flash as much as I want through the obd port from then on right? Like when switching BM tunes?
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2020, 09:31 PM   #909
McLaren720s
Lieutenant
106
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

My local shop just unlocked my ECU today. They did not removed it. It took about 30 minutes to reach inside and disconnect the harness, then connect their equipment and unlock it then reconnect everything.
It's a tight space to work in but if you remove a couple of the components first it might be easier. This was their first time doing it so it took them a while to figure out how to approach it.

Going back tomorrow to get the tune flashed on! Of course, I could just flash BM3 myself but they're getting a bit more power out of it because they're dyno tuning it as well so I'll also be getting before-and-after dyno numbers along with custom tuning.
__________________
2020 BMW M2 Competition - DCT - Black Sapphire Metallic - Executive Package - 22RDP Tune 487whp
Appreciate 6
robertm126.50
LBbluem2108.00
M2C_OZ73.50
Poochie4540.50

      04-14-2020, 10:32 AM   #910
M2C_OZ
Private
M2C_OZ's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Masachusetts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren720s View Post
My local shop just unlocked my ECU today. They did not removed it. It took about 30 minutes to reach inside and disconnect the harness, then connect their equipment and unlock it then reconnect everything.
It's a tight space to work in but if you remove a couple of the components first it might be easier. This was their first time doing it so it took them a while to figure out how to approach it.

Going back tomorrow to get the tune flashed on! Of course, I could just flash BM3 myself but they're getting a bit more power out of it because they're dyno tuning it as well so I'll also be getting before-and-after dyno numbers along with custom tuning.
The probably used ktag master with service mode
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2020, 10:52 AM   #911
Poochie
Luxury at the redline :)
Poochie's Avatar
United_States
4541
Rep
4,989
Posts

Drives: 2016 M2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren720s View Post
My local shop just unlocked my ECU today. They did not removed it. It took about 30 minutes to reach inside and disconnect the harness, then connect their equipment and unlock it then reconnect everything.
It's a tight space to work in but if you remove a couple of the components first it might be easier. This was their first time doing it so it took them a while to figure out how to approach it.

Going back tomorrow to get the tune flashed on! Of course, I could just flash BM3 myself but they're getting a bit more power out of it because they're dyno tuning it as well so I'll also be getting before-and-after dyno numbers along with custom tuning.
Great news, thanks for sharing the update!

I'm not keen on physically removing the DME, for various reasons but I could live with them unlocking it, while still attached to the vehicle, essentially bypassing the bootloader's firewall.

Kudos to whomever pioneered this innovative work-around 👏🏻
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
M2C_OZ73.50

      04-14-2020, 11:49 AM   #912
speedsnice
Private First Class
355
Rep
189
Posts

Drives: 1999 BMW M3, 2020 M2 Comp
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Westchester New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poochie View Post
Great news, thanks for sharing the update!

I'm not keen on physically removing the DME, for various reasons but I could live with them unlocking it, while still attached to the vehicle, essentially bypassing the bootloader's firewall.

Kudos to whomever pioneered this innovative work-around 👏🏻
Do you unlock the DMEís?
__________________
1999 M3 Convertible manual
2018 Subaru Crosstrek Limited (commuter car)
2020 M2 Competition

Instagram @s55m2
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2020, 12:05 PM   #913
Poochie
Luxury at the redline :)
Poochie's Avatar
United_States
4541
Rep
4,989
Posts

Drives: 2016 M2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedsnice View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poochie View Post
Great news, thanks for sharing the update!

I'm not keen on physically removing the DME, for various reasons but I could live with them unlocking it, while still attached to the vehicle, essentially bypassing the bootloader's firewall.

Kudos to whomever pioneered this innovative work-around 👏🏻
Do you unlock the DME's?
Oh no, I found that picture on Facebook of a tuner, hard at work, attempting to bench-flash an M2's ECU and I felt it was fitting to this thread..
Appreciate 1
      04-14-2020, 12:05 PM   #914
McLaren720s
Lieutenant
106
Rep
411
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2C_OZ View Post
The probably used ktag master with service mode
AutoTuner
__________________
2020 BMW M2 Competition - DCT - Black Sapphire Metallic - Executive Package - 22RDP Tune 487whp
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2020, 12:13 PM   #915
M2C_OZ
Private
M2C_OZ's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Masachusetts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poochie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren720s View Post
My local shop just unlocked my ECU today. They did not removed it. It took about 30 minutes to reach inside and disconnect the harness, then connect their equipment and unlock it then reconnect everything.
It's a tight space to work in but if you remove a couple of the components first it might be easier. This was their first time doing it so it took them a while to figure out how to approach it.

Going back tomorrow to get the tune flashed on! Of course, I could just flash BM3 myself but they're getting a bit more power out of it because they're dyno tuning it as well so I'll also be getting before-and-after dyno numbers along with custom tuning.
Great news, thanks for sharing the update!

I'm not keen on physically removing the DME, for various reasons but I could live with them unlocking it, while still attached to the vehicle, essentially bypassing the bootloader's firewall.

Kudos to whomever pioneered this innovative work-around 👏🏻
That unit is called flex box from magicmotorsports
Appreciate 1
Poochie4540.50

      04-14-2020, 12:18 PM   #916
Poochie
Luxury at the redline :)
Poochie's Avatar
United_States
4541
Rep
4,989
Posts

Drives: 2016 M2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2C_OZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poochie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren720s View Post
My local shop just unlocked my ECU today. They did not removed it. It took about 30 minutes to reach inside and disconnect the harness, then connect their equipment and unlock it then reconnect everything.
It's a tight space to work in but if you remove a couple of the components first it might be easier. This was their first time doing it so it took them a while to figure out how to approach it.

Going back tomorrow to get the tune flashed on! Of course, I could just flash BM3 myself but they're getting a bit more power out of it because they're dyno tuning it as well so I'll also be getting before-and-after dyno numbers along with custom tuning.
Great news, thanks for sharing the update!

I'm not keen on physically removing the DME, for various reasons but I could live with them unlocking it, while still attached to the vehicle, essentially bypassing the bootloader's firewall.

Kudos to whomever pioneered this innovative work-around 👏🏻
That unit is called flex box from magicmotorsports
Thanks for the information, bro..

As my curiously peaks, I'm always up to educating myself, on the subject


https://www.magicmotorsport.com/flex/
Appreciate 1
M2C_OZ73.50

      04-14-2020, 02:45 PM   #917
Mdkcrf250r
Private First Class
United_States
72
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

My co worker just purchased bm after I recommended it to him (I tuned my 18 M2 through obd). He just found out his 2020 dme is locked. I told him to ship the dme to bm but theyíre not accepting because of covid. So heís purchased bm for $600 plus the cable, waited 3 weeks for the cable, attempted to install and was told it wonít work it needs to be bench unlocked but they canít do it and that heíll have to pay a local shop to do it. Thatís pretty effed up. PTF but up a disclaimer on your website!! This is super shady! I get my M2C on the 28th, Iíll be spending my money elsewhere.
Appreciate 2
M2C_OZ73.50
DaFish130.00

      04-14-2020, 03:42 PM   #918
chmura
Colonel
chmura's Avatar
1329
Rep
2,267
Posts

Drives: 2019 M2 Competition
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orange County, California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdkcrf250r View Post
My co worker just purchased bm after I recommended it to him (I tuned my 18 M2 through obd). He just found out his 2020 dme is locked. I told him to ship the dme to bm but theyíre not accepting because of covid. So heís purchased bm for $600 plus the cable, waited 3 weeks for the cable, attempted to install and was told it wonít work it needs to be bench unlocked but they canít do it and that heíll have to pay a local shop to do it. Thatís pretty effed up. PTF but up a disclaimer on your website!! This is super shady! I get my M2C on the 28th, Iíll be spending my money elsewhere.
Definitely shady. They need to put up a disclaimer on their site regarding 2020 M2ís.

Have your buddy put in a credit card claim to get his money back. He should win that very easily.

Last edited by chmura; 04-14-2020 at 04:07 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2020, 05:14 PM   #919
M2C_OZ
Private
M2C_OZ's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Masachusetts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdkcrf250r View Post
My co worker just purchased bm after I recommended it to him (I tuned my 18 M2 through obd). He just found out his 2020 dme is locked. I told him to ship the dme to bm but they’re not accepting because of covid. So he’s purchased bm for $600 plus the cable, waited 3 weeks for the cable, attempted to install and was told it won’t work it needs to be bench unlocked but they can’t do it and that he’ll have to pay a local shop to do it. That’s pretty effed up. PTF but up a disclaimer on your website!! This is super shady! I get my M2C on the 28th, I’ll be spending my money elsewhere.
Everybody knows about this update, i bought my car 6 months ago and thought i could do the same thing.

Before buying the license i did a little research i found out i couldn't obd tune it without removing the DME.

There are a few companies that can bench unlock his DME
Appreciate 1
_RS4_466.50

      04-14-2020, 06:28 PM   #920
Mdkcrf250r
Private First Class
United_States
72
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Not everyone knows and not everyone that owns an M2C scours the forums all day to find this out. This should be plastered all over Pro Tuning Freaks website. Every local BMW shop in the SF Bay Area doesnít even know what unlocking means.
Appreciate 3
Poochie4540.50
DaFish130.00

      04-14-2020, 10:17 PM   #921
mattssi
Lieutenant
62
Rep
517
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bend, OR

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdkcrf250r View Post
Not everyone knows and not everyone that owns an M2C scours the forums all day to find this out. This should be plastered all over Pro Tuning Freaks website. Every local BMW shop in the SF Bay Area doesnít even know what unlocking means.
Exactly.
__________________
2019 X3
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2020, 01:17 AM   #922
msdss
Lieutenant
msdss's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
423
Posts

Drives: Alpine White 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

If they unlock it without taking the ECU out, can you then use bm3 via obd2 without any issues?

If so, can you re-lock and unlock at will at this point?
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2020, 08:05 AM   #923
Dutch Devotion
Private
Dutch Devotion's Avatar
32
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: F80M3 - M2 comp ETA 14.10.2019
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Autobahn Hooning

iTrader: (0)

I know that bFlash has tools that can do the unlocking from the connectors, and I know that pretty respectable tuners are working on a dedicated unlock tool as their expectation is the same as mine: locked ecu's all the way with BMW, B58, S58, and all the current cars on the road after a dealer upgrade. Surprisingly I hear nobody talking about that. Unlocking your car, tuning it, and "accidentally" receiving an dmu update while being in the dealers workshop. You would not be the first. Pretty f'ed up if you ask me.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2020, 11:46 PM   #924
MTWO
Lieutenant
282
Rep
453
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Innisfil

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2C_OZ View Post
Everybody knows about this update, i bought my car 6 months ago and thought i could do the same thing.

Before buying the license i did a little research i found out i couldn't obd tune it without removing the DME.

There are a few companies that can bench unlock his DME
+1
Appreciate 1
M2C_OZ73.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bm3, bootmod3, m2 competition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST