BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Issues 3>2 Downshifting 6MT

07-09-2022, 09:37 PM   #1
fleetfoot
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 M2, 2013 E92 328i

Issues 3>2 Downshifting 6MT

I'm just getting into HPDE, and I've only done 10 days (3 in my M2), so I'm still making mistakes and learning lots. On my last track day I was struggling with my 3>2 downshift. I'm at a slow enough speed, I'm shifting very methodically and not de-clutching too early, but there were more than a few times were the transmission wouldn't let me into 2nd...almost like a lockout. I've driven manuals for almost 20 years now and it just seemed odd. I've never had this issue in my 328i 6MT. I do have an Autosolutions SSK, but those shifters seem really well built, so I really doubt it's causing a problem.

A few questions:
1) Any ideas what might be happening here?
2) Are other folks regularly downshifting to 2nd or do you mostly stay in 3rd?
3) I have heard that Mustangs have issues getting into some gears if there is lateral load on the transmission. Anyone experienced that in an M2?
4) What's your hand/arm technique for shifting 3>2? I suppose it's possible I'm getting too far left and getting into the reverse gate?
      07-09-2022, 10:56 PM   #2
bentom2
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M2

I don’t use 2nd at my local tracks, but it may be appropriate where you’re at.

I have experienced difficulty finding 4th from 5th or 3rd from 4th, and especially 3 from 5 when there is a lateral load. Engine and trans mounts are pretty soft, so I wouldn’t be surprised if your #3 is a factor. Could be some influence from the shifter as well, but couldn’t say.

Maybe try the 3->2 down shift in a straight(er) line next time if you can and see what happens? I generally avoid down shifting under high lateral loads or I’m extra deliberate in the few places I do. Maybe you can adjust your timing to do the same.
Appreciate 2