BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Torque wrench or impact wrench for track days?

02-04-2019, 12:48 PM   #1
Karlosm2c
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: M2 Competition

Torque wrench or impact wrench for track days?

Evening all,

I get my M2 Comp on 1st March and after the 1200 run-in period coupled with a few mods I will be tracking my car. I am a bit of novice and so I just wanted to ask a few simple questions about wrenches and torque levels to make sure I understand the basics and buy the right equipment.

As I am going to be doing track days and swapping out wheels fairly regularly I want to be able to do this quickly and correctly. My basic understanding from initial research is that for speed you might use the impact wrench to unscrew the lug nuts (I know, that's obvious) and then, when you put the new wheels back on, use the impact wrench again on a slower speed to put the nut in most of the way (for convenience) and then use a torque wrench to complete screwing it in at the right level of torque. Remember, I did say I am a novice So, my questions:

1. Am I in any way right about my thoughts above?
2. Can impact wrenches also have adjustable torque settings? (I know torque wrenches do)
3. What is the required torque setting for wheels on the M2 Comp? and,
4. Do different wheels require different torque? (I will have 763m and 788m wheels)
5. What size adaptor would I need on the torque / impact wrench to fit the lug nuts, or does an adaptor generally come with the car? Remember....novice....

I figure if I bought an impact wrench it would be good to have a torque wrench spare anyway.

Aside from these questions any general advice around this subject will be much appreciated

Cheers,

Karl
      02-04-2019, 01:12 PM   #2
GasBurnlife(landapanda)
Captain
Rep
Drives: BMW M2