BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > N55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > .

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-11-2018, 07:21 PM   #23
///Mē
Lieutenant
///Mē's Avatar
Canada
278
Rep
402
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M2 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1monQc View Post
I'd love to have a Stage 1 91 octane dyno graph... Since I only have Shell 91 octane here in Canada

BM3 looks super appealing now with OBD flash tunes!!!
Don't you have Petro-Canada 94 Octane, or Esso 93 in Montreal??
__________________
'17 BMW M2 LBB 6MT MPE
'13 BMW 335i Estoril Blue - sold
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2018, 09:38 PM   #24
S1monQc
First Lieutenant
222
Rep
309
Posts

Drives: '18 AW M2
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Mē View Post
Don't you have Petro-Canada 94 Octane, or Esso 93 in Montreal??
AFAIK Petro 94 isn't a true 94 octane gas... I've been running Shell 91 for some times with tuned cars with good success.

I'd rather run a more conservative tune, if I ever tune the car
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 12:42 AM   #25
eatingpizzainthef87rules
Second Lieutenant
243
Rep
218
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by S1monQc View Post
AFAIK Petro 94 isn't a true 94 octane gas... I've been running Shell 91 for some times with tuned cars with good success.

I'd rather run a more conservative tune, if I ever tune the car
That is not correct - Petro 94 has a very high knock threshold as of 2016, much more than 91 Esso
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 02:08 AM   #26
R0ME0
"The Midas Touch"
R0ME0's Avatar
496
Rep
1,078
Posts

Drives: F87 LBB ///M2
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2017 M2  [5.00]
2008 Z4M - SOLD  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehboost View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by m2ruder View Post
1. How many developed OTS maps do they currently have? I see 2 or 4 if you split between 91/93 (found a post from Dec noting there are S1 & S2 M2 specific maps)
2. For $600 can you start at something like stage 2 and not stage 1?\3. Anybody got a link to the BM3 M2 dyno results for the different stages?
Here are the M2 OTS Maps as of 03/10/18, they also have maps for upgraded turbo, port injection, meth injection, backend flash w/ JB4, anything you want PLUS custom tuning from PTF or any tuner:

If you want to just Flash and Go, PTF has you covered, no data logging required! Although, you always have the ability to data log if you want to and have that reviewed by PTF and they can make adjustments!

Thanks for sharing. Do you know if the OTS maps come with the GTS loud startup roar as they have on the f80/f82? Would love to see some videos of that!
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 05:08 AM   #27
Oxymoron
Second Lieutenant
Australia
87
Rep
200
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2 LCI MGM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia

iTrader: (0)

I'm running the Stage 2 93 OTS map in my M2. Mods are DP, CP, Intercooler and a drop in filter.

Baseline Dyno with those mods fitted was a measly 286whp (I'm in Australia using a Dyno dynamics). After flashing that jumped to 343whp. Both runs under an hour apart.

In the midrange there was a gain of 75whp.

Needless to say it's fast! And the burble 😎
Appreciate 1
Endeav336.00

      03-12-2018, 05:13 AM   #28
SeanWRT
Colonel
SeanWRT's Avatar
2780
Rep
2,455
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 & F87 M2
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Shanghai

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxymoron View Post
I'm running the Stage 2 93 OTS map in my M2. Mods are DP, CP, Intercooler and a drop in filter.

Baseline Dyno with those mods fitted was a measly 286whp (I'm in Australia using a Dyno dynamics). After flashing that jumped to 343whp. Both runs under an hour apart.

In the midrange there was a gain of 75whp.

Needless to say it's fast! And the burble 😎
57whp would be a massive gain over FBO stock flash. How many run did you gave to the baseline? Were those runs stably showing 280+?

Post dynograph please.
__________________
Lemania 2320
Appreciate 1
Endeav336.00

      03-12-2018, 07:24 AM   #29
Oxymoron
Second Lieutenant
Australia
87
Rep
200
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2 LCI MGM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia

iTrader: (0)

Only 1 run at 286 right before the flash.

2 weeks before that it made 296whp completely stock. Same dyno. So FBO actually made me lose peak hp.

I can't work or how to post pics sorry.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 08:00 AM   #30
Tricki
Lieutenant
Tricki's Avatar
Australia
201
Rep
580
Posts

Drives: BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxymoron View Post
Only 1 run at 286 right before the flash.

2 weeks before that it made 296whp completely stock. Same dyno. So FBO actually made me lose peak hp.

I can't work or how to post pics sorry.
I'm in Australia... let's talk kw at the wheels!!
What are the numbers?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 10:01 AM   #31
RedCarrot
Second Lieutenant
RedCarrot's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
221
Posts

Drives: '18 AW M2
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxymoron View Post
Only 1 run at 286 right before the flash.

2 weeks before that it made 296whp completely stock. Same dyno. So FBO actually made me lose peak hp.

I can't work or how to post pics sorry.
I am sorry but that's a sure sign that the 286hp dyno is not quite right. FBO should not lose peak power unless the install or the parts themselves are faulty.
__________________
Gone but not forgotten:
'14 Corvette Stingray (2014-2017)
'05 Boxster S (2005 - 2014)
'00 S2000 (2000-2005)
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 10:46 AM   #32
FSociety
Follow Me on IG @BMW_F9X
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3561
Rep
7,438
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Why are you guys talking about gains in a Step by Step thread? ? ?

Should take it to the other Bootmod3 M2 related thread

Bootmod3 General Discussion
__________________
F98 X4M Custom STG1 1/4m 10.61@130.92 60-130 7.5 1st WR
TristateBM3 STG2-- 1/4m -- 60-130: 7.3 -- 0-100mph: 10.18

IG: @bmw_F9X

Appreciate 1
S1monQc222.00

      03-12-2018, 02:07 PM   #33
proTUNING Freaks
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
proTUNING Freaks's Avatar
3809
Rep
1,744
Posts


Drives: powered by bootmod3
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: www.protuningfreaks.com | www.bootmod3.com

iTrader: (0)

thank you so much for putting this together
Appreciate 1
NO_USER_532.50

      03-12-2018, 06:21 PM   #34
ObiChen
Lieutenant
ObiChen's Avatar
Canada
74
Rep
506
Posts

Drives: 11'E90 / 18'F82
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW F82 M4  [0.00]
Some questions regarding the transmission: If you Flashed GTS DTC and went full stock(lock DME) later for some reason, do you need to re-flash GTS DTC after unlock DME again? If yes, do you need to flash the transmission back to stock before lock your DME? If no, will dealer detect anything? assuming the existence of GTS DTC flash. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 09:39 PM   #35
SeanWRT
Colonel
SeanWRT's Avatar
2780
Rep
2,455
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 & F87 M2
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Shanghai

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ObiwanChen View Post
Some questions regarding the transmission: If you Flashed GTS DTC and went full stock(lock DME) later for some reason, do you need to re-flash GTS DTC after unlock DME again? If yes, do you need to flash the transmission back to stock before lock your DME? If no, will dealer detect anything? assuming the existence of GTS DTC flash. Thanks!
GTS gearbox software is flash-able with or without unlock so you don't have to worry about it. It's more of a "coding" effort than a flash where ECU is re-written.

I flashed GTS gearbox in early days when it's not even available with BM3. It shifted much more smoother but shifting logic was changed to the same across driving modes, meaning it's trying to get you into high gear in all modes like it would in comfort, C/S/S+ differ only in throttle sensitivity. I'm sure it was not the intention but a compatibility problem with M2, because M3/M4 don't have such issues.

Now that GTS gearbox is tagged Verison 2.0, maybe the issue is addressed. Anyway, you can switch back anytime, just a button click.
__________________
Lemania 2320
Appreciate 1
FSociety3561.00

      03-13-2018, 04:50 AM   #36
horsepower_and_hounds
Brigadier General
horsepower_and_hounds's Avatar
United_States
1381
Rep
3,759
Posts

Drives: '15 M4 BSM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charlotte

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanWRT View Post
GTS gearbox software is flash-able with or without unlock so you don't have to worry about it. It's more of a "coding" effort than a flash where ECU is re-written.

I flashed GTS gearbox in early days when it's not even available with BM3. It shifted much more smoother but shifting logic was changed to the same across driving modes, meaning it's trying to get you into high gear in all modes like it would in comfort, C/S/S+ differ only in throttle sensitivity. I'm sure it was not the intention but a compatibility problem with M2, because M3/M4 don't have such issues.

Now that GTS gearbox is tagged Verison 2.0, maybe the issue is addressed. Anyway, you can switch back anytime, just a button click.
Just an FYI....I had the GTS DCT flash on the M4 and it did the similar thing. Under low throttle input it was always short shifting up. Really annoying. But when you were on the gas it then held gears longer and shifting was crisper yet smoother and more precise. I was 50/50 with it
__________________
IG: horsepower_and_hounds
'15 M4 BSM DCT CCB, '15 Alfa Romeo 4c coupe "sold", '18 M2 "sold", '15 M4 "totaled", '14 M235 "sold", '09 128i "sold"
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2018, 05:57 AM   #37
R0ME0
"The Midas Touch"
R0ME0's Avatar
496
Rep
1,078
Posts

Drives: F87 LBB ///M2
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2017 M2  [5.00]
2008 Z4M - SOLD  [0.00]
Can anyone confirm the gts loud start up roar is included in the OTS maps? Even better if you have vids
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2018, 08:36 AM   #38
MRosth
Private
MRosth's Avatar
Sweden
111
Rep
97
Posts

Drives: M2 Comp
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Do I need to unlock the ECU before this?
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2018, 08:48 AM   #39
FSociety
Follow Me on IG @BMW_F9X
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3561
Rep
7,438
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRosth View Post
Do I need to unlock the ECU before this?
Read first Post 7x
Appreciate 1
NO_USER_532.50

      03-14-2018, 09:05 AM   #40
MTWO
Lieutenant
337
Rep
585
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Innisfil

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRosth View Post
Do I need to unlock the ECU before this?
No need. It does it all for you.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 12:34 AM   #41
NO_USER_
Major
No_Country
533
Rep
1,041
Posts

Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: .

iTrader: (2)

You now get ALL OTS MAPS for the price of ONE! STAGE 1, 2, E85, WHATEVER YOU WANT! BM3 is a no brainer at this point, 100% most bang for buck!

Per PTF:

We've also just announced a change to handling additional OTS (off the shelf) maps. Going forward we're moving away from charging for individual additional OTS maps and instead we'll be providing access to ALL OTS maps we might have for your car at any given time!

What does this mean?
What used to be the cost 1 additional ($50 for N20/N26/N55, $100 for S55 and $150 for S63tu/N63tu) is now the cost of the entire OTS Maps bundle. All OTS maps, including the free ones of course, will now become flashable for the cost of what used to be 1 additional OTS map.

Changes are effective immediately on our website and in the system. Anyone that has already paid for an additional OTS map in the past now has automatic access to all other OTS Maps by default and any OTS maps we're going to release in the future.

With bootmod3's offline flash feature it takes just shy of 4 minutes to go from stock to OBD unlocked and tuned with an OTS map on the car and about 40 seconds to switch (flash) from one map to another. It runs on anything you can imagine from Windows and macOS laptops to mobile iOS and Android devices. All that is required outside of a laptop to get going with it is just a $20 generic BMW ENET coding cable you can get on Amazon and you're good to go!

Last edited by NO_USER_; 03-16-2018 at 11:42 PM..
Appreciate 2
FSociety3561.00

      03-16-2018, 11:33 PM   #42
NO_USER_
Major
No_Country
533
Rep
1,041
Posts

Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: .

iTrader: (2)

UPDATE - There is a BM3 Agent Application! Step 2 is now replaced with the following steps:
  • Install once downloaded, and proceed with Step 3. But you're now opening the newly installed application, not the .bat or .jar files.


You no longer need to install Java (if you installed it only for BM3, I recommend you uninstall it).
Appreciate 1
FSociety3561.00

      03-17-2018, 05:04 PM   #43
Hameed
Private
21
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: AW F87 M2
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Saudi Arabia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tehboost View Post
You now get ALL OTS MAPS for the price of ONE! STAGE 1, 2, E85, WHATEVER YOU WANT! BM3 is a no brainer at this point, 100% most bang for buck!

Per PTF:

We've also just announced a change to handling additional OTS (off the shelf) maps. Going forward we're moving away from charging for individual additional OTS maps and instead we'll be providing access to ALL OTS maps we might have for your car at any given time!

What does this mean?
What used to be the cost 1 additional ($50 for N20/N26/N55, $100 for S55 and $150 for S63tu/N63tu) is now the cost of the entire OTS Maps bundle. All OTS maps, including the free ones of course, will now become flashable for the cost of what used to be 1 additional OTS map.

Changes are effective immediately on our website and in the system. Anyone that has already paid for an additional OTS map in the past now has automatic access to all other OTS Maps by default and any OTS maps we're going to release in the future.

With bootmod3's offline flash feature it takes just shy of 4 minutes to go from stock to OBD unlocked and tuned with an OTS map on the car and about 40 seconds to switch (flash) from one map to another. It runs on anything you can imagine from Windows and macOS laptops to mobile iOS and Android devices. All that is required outside of a laptop to get going with it is just a $20 generic BMW ENET coding cable you can get on Amazon and you're good to go!
No brainier indeed!
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2018, 11:11 AM   #44
Tryboz
Private
15
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: '16 X5
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (0)

BM3 Wifi Connection

Anyone have the wifi agent? I just bought the wifi agent this week, updated to latest software. I see the diagnostics working using the bootmod3 network and password when im at home. I put on offline and soon as i drive away it disconnects so i cant see or log anything.

Dont see what im doing wrong?

Anyone have similar issue or know how to fix?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bm3, bootmod3, dme, obd unlock, protuning freaks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST