BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Discussions > Current gear HUD for DCT owners (DIY)

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2020, 06:30 PM   #1
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Current gear HUD for DCT owners (DIY)

When driving the DCT in manual mode and especially when in a high gear at low rpms I might loose track of what gear I'm in. So I did a small kit that correctly calculates what gear I'm in from rpm and speed from OBD2/CAN bus and can display this on a OBD2 HUD or your own built led display with some tweaks.

It can display current gear, speed, water or oil temperature

All code, parts list and connection instructions are here:

https://github.com/MagnusThome/BMW-M...Gear-indicator
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 4
cptobvious2016.00
dtmurf191.00

      01-14-2020, 06:48 PM   #2
andrewc89
Colonel
andrewc89's Avatar
United_States
6746
Rep
2,922
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2 | 2015 328dx
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2017 M2  [5.00]
2015 328d xDrive  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusT View Post
I might lose track of what gear I'm in
Isn't there a gear indicator right there?

Appreciate 3
bmwm2nyc225.00
McPurrs282.50
ChrisK3662.00

      01-14-2020, 06:54 PM   #3
F87source
Captain
F87source's Avatar
Canada
351
Rep
896
Posts

Drives: 2017 Bmw M2 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Love the hud, only issue for me is they're obd2 based and that's where my obd2 datalogging equipment goes.
__________________
Follow me on Instagram @f87source
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2020, 07:29 PM   #4
atomsapple
Private First Class
36
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C, 2005 Tacoma, 765RS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

iTrader: (0)

This looks awesome though I'd wager far too technical for most. I'd love to get speed from the OBD2 port... Any chance you want to sell these?
Appreciate 1
dtmurf191.00

      01-15-2020, 04:07 AM   #5
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewc89 View Post
Isn't there a gear indicator right there?

Yeah but I have to look down for it and re focus. Up as a hud I don't even have to stop looking at the road straight ahead since I can see the gear (or speed) with the peripheral vision.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 04:08 AM   #6
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomsapple View Post
This looks awesome though I'd wager far too technical for most. I'd love to get speed from the OBD2 port... Any chance you want to sell these?
To get speed just buy the OBD display, it displays speed and water temperature natively. My kit is just to fool it to show current gear too (and oil temp)
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 04:09 AM   #7
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F87source View Post
Love the hud, only issue for me is they're obd2 based and that's where my obd2 datalogging equipment goes.
Me too, that's why I hook it up to the CAN bus leaving the OBD2 jack free for data logging bluetooth dongle. You can connect to the CAN bus anywhere, either use the OBD2 jack itself, on the back of the OBD2 jack directly to the two CAN bus wires or as I do from the instrument clusters CAN bus wires (I simply hooked up to the connector inside the cluster).
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 09:32 AM   #8
LuvMyE92
Occasionally frequent poster
LuvMyE92's Avatar
United_States
311
Rep
881
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cary, NC, USA

iTrader: (0)

Very clever!

Me, I'm old fashioned (as evidenced by my choice of manual transmission) and use the exhaust/engine sound to determine RPM and by guesstimating speed, can determine gear.

That's really the only option that is not offered in the M2 that I wish it had - HUD.
__________________
F87 (mine)
E90 (hers)
G30 (ours)
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 11:10 AM   #9
McPurrs
The deuce gets loose
283
Rep
515
Posts

Drives: '17 M2 BSM 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Worcester, MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F87source View Post
Love the hud, only issue for me is they're obd2 based and that's where my obd2 datalogging equipment goes.
You can use en OBD splitter...
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 11:33 AM   #10
F87source
Captain
F87source's Avatar
Canada
351
Rep
896
Posts

Drives: 2017 Bmw M2 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by McPurrs View Post
You can use en OBD splitter...
That takes bandwidth from the port as a whole slowing down data logging or other critical equipment like water injection systems that require fast obd2 data speeds.....
__________________
Follow me on Instagram @f87source
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 11:51 AM   #11
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Again, just hook up to the CAN bus directly :-) Currently I'm on the PT-CAN in the cluster. I'm thinking of trying to hook up to the K-CAN at the headunit instead. Not sure if I can fetch the data from there though, but I'm going to test it out so I can control the display from the steering wheel "res" button. We'll see.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 12:47 PM   #12
chmura
Colonel
chmura's Avatar
1300
Rep
2,216
Posts

Drives: 2019 M2 Competition
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orange County, California

iTrader: (1)

I do not understand the need for this. You have a DCT all you need to be looking at is the RPM that should tell you when you want to shift/downshift, etc.
__________________
2019 M2 Competition- October 2, 2018 ED
2011 BMW M3 Sedan Alpine White
Picked up via ED 9/27/2011 & Redelivered 11/23/2011 **SOLD**
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 01:11 PM   #13
F87source
Captain
F87source's Avatar
Canada
351
Rep
896
Posts

Drives: 2017 Bmw M2 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusT View Post
Again, just hook up to the CAN bus directly :-) Currently I'm on the PT-CAN in the cluster. I'm thinking of trying to hook up to the K-CAN at the headunit instead. Not sure if I can fetch the data from there though, but I'm going to test it out so I can control the display from the steering wheel "res" button. We'll see.
Very cool if you can get this to work.
__________________
Follow me on Instagram @f87source
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 01:19 PM   #14
detroitm2
Major
detroitm2's Avatar
United_States
1320
Rep
1,420
Posts

Drives: 2018 M2
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by F87source View Post
Very cool if you can get this to work.
My datalogger (AIM Solo 2 DL) connects to the CAN on the FEM. Works great.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 01:38 PM   #15
Picoschu
Private
96
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 03 E39 M5, 01 325iT, 18 F87 M2
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Very cool. I always questioned why BMW never provided HUD for current M cars. I loved it when my buddy had his E60 M5 with gear indicator. I much prefer it over the gauge cluster.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 06:18 PM   #16
akkando
Brigadier General
3083
Rep
4,166
Posts

Drives: 17 M2 DCT LBB,11 e90 M3 ZCP IB
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (1)

Can you get it to show RPM?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2020, 08:15 PM   #17
MZWIE
Lieutenant Colonel
304
Rep
1,640
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: GEORGIA

iTrader: (0)

Inane
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2020, 10:56 AM   #18
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by akkando View Post
Can you get it to show RPM?
Yes, it's up to what display you choose. I chose a clean uncluttered one with only three large digits and nothing more since I only want gear, speed and temps. But there are numerous that can show rpm too.

This kit is really only the added thing of getting current gear on to these kind of HUD displays because there is no reasonably priced solution out there for current gear.
Appreciate 1
cptobvious2016.00

      01-16-2020, 10:58 AM   #19
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MZWIE View Post
Inane
Maybe for you but not for me To me it's very useful
Appreciate 2
cptobvious2016.00
dtmurf191.00

      01-17-2020, 02:37 PM   #20
dtmurf
First Lieutenant
dtmurf's Avatar
191
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: (US M2 in) Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusT View Post
To get speed just buy the OBD display, it displays speed and water temperature natively. My kit is just to fool it to show current gear too (and oil temp)
What OBD Display?

I think the only thinking missing from the M2 is the HUD so I'd really be into this...and it would solve the OG "dash display is too dark to read" issue!
__________________
'17 M2 DCT Long Beach Blue

Last edited by dtmurf; 01-17-2020 at 03:33 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2020, 03:12 PM   #21
MagnusT
Lieutenant
MagnusT's Avatar
Sweden
329
Rep
488
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtmurf View Post
What OBD Display?

I think the only thinking missing from the M2 is the HUD so I'd really be into this...and it would slove the OG "dash display is too dark to read" issue!
There are lots to choose from that you connect to the obd2 jack. The one I use is extremely simple just like I wanted it, there's a link to it in the parts list on the build page I linked to in my first post. If you want to look around for other models just search for OBD2 HUD on amazon, ebay, aliexpress. But not all are good, some are crappy have a lot of reflexes, need a mirror film on the window and so on.
Appreciate 1
dtmurf191.00

      01-17-2020, 03:43 PM   #22
dtmurf
First Lieutenant
dtmurf's Avatar
191
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: (US M2 in) Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusT View Post
There are lots to choose from that you connect to the obd2 jack. The one I use is extremely simple just like I wanted it, there's a link to it in the parts list on the build page I linked to in my first post. If you want to look around for other models just search for OBD2 HUD on amazon, ebay, aliexpress. But not all are good, some are crappy have a lot of reflexes, need a mirror film on the window and so on.
Okay, do you mean this, and if so, does it need the mirror film?
Attached Images
 
__________________
'17 M2 DCT Long Beach Blue
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST