BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Discussions > Opinions on bent rim repair/replacement and insurance

10-25-2022, 11:02 AM   #1
an4691
Private
Rep
Drives: 2020 M2C in HS

Question Opinions on bent rim repair/replacement and insurance

Hi Fellow 2Addicts

I had the terrible luck one evening of turning too late and going over the cobbled? part between two exits on the highway a few weeks ago. Since then my cars been running fine and no issues to report up until the morning I'm taking it to the dealer for its scheduled service when it starts warning that the front right tire is low.

Later the service department gets back to me that the wheel is "SEVERELY BENT". They send me pics and videos of the impact point and said that both wheel and tire need to be replaced. They sent me an estimate of 2500$ to get a new wheel and tire plus 200$ for a 4 wheel alignment.

I'm attaching the pics they sent me at the bottom of this post. I'm no expert but looking at pictures of other bent wheel situations I've seen online, the bend here seems not "SEVERE". Also, is the tire even damaged at all? What do you all think? It's a 788M wheel.

2500$ for this wheel and tire combo seems beyond excessive to me, a new wheel is 1000$ online(even cheaper on eBay etc.) and a new OEM tire is 300-ish$ online. Do you think this is a candidate for repair? Should I just let them change it and make an insurance claim? My deductible is 500$. I understand that the insurance claim would be coded as an "at-fault collision" which makes it likely that my rates will go up. Would it also affect the car's resale value since now it has technically been in a collision?

If I don't go the insurance route, the minimum I can get the wheel for is between 700-1000$, and assuming the tire needs to be changed as well I'm looking at between 1200-1500$ out of pocket including the wheel alignment.