M2 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > 2018 M2 brake problem

07-02-2019, 07:35 AM   #1
Aualexa2
United_States
Rep
Drives: ‘18 M2 Alpine White

2018 M2 brake problem

Hey, guys.

I'm new to the M2 world as I usually track my GT4. I took my M2 to NJMP Thunderbolt last weekend and had the brake pedal hit the floor after only 4 laps on track. It was barely enough track time to get the brakes warmed up. I was able to safely get off the track and had the brake fluid flushed by the trackside shop. Of note, I had srf flushed a week prior to the event by my local shop (who I trust 100%). When they flushed it at the track, they got a lot of air out of the driver side front caliper. The brakes felt great the next session, but later in the day, they went to the floor again. This was more than just brake fade. I'm planning on having a full flush done again including bleeding the abs unit in case air somehow got in there. Is there anything else that I should be considering?

More background: There are no puddles of brake fluid anywhere, so I don't think there are any leaks. The car is basically new with only 3000 miles on it. No previous track use. Stock pads.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Alex
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 08:19 AM   #2
ZM2
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2017 LBB M2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aualexa2 View Post
Hey, guys.