BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Competition Model > Instrument cluster questions?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-13-2020, 02:54 PM   #23
Conissah
Captain
Conissah's Avatar
871
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by biomechaniod View Post
Also... a bit of advice... don't EVER touch the plastic "glass" on the instrument cluster. It somehow scratches VERY easily. I personally think it's a design deficiency. I used a very fine, soft, optical camera lens cloth to wipe off the dust that collected on it. I've detailed every other car with it but it left many visible scratches on the M2 panel. There is some sort of anti-glare texture on there and it's very fragile and easy to mar.
^^ This. Can of compressed air only.
Appreciate 1
      02-13-2020, 05:18 PM   #24
pizza240
Private First Class
156
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: 2019 M2C 6MT HS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizza240 View Post
The gauge under the RPM cluster essentially shows how much fuel is being delivered to the engine under current throttle.
You can turn this off. A lot of people don't like it for some reason. I like having it. It's nice to get an idea of how much fuel you're using at a given moment. It also reminds me of the E30/older BMWs.
I think its neat, but the M2 is not being driven for fuel efficiency. You can also change this display via idrive to show the steering/servo, Efficient / Sport and shift speed setting currently being used. I have it set to this, and has a lot more utility to me to know how aggressively I am set up at any moment.
I don't disagree, but like seeing how much fuel I'm pouring in there at various RPMs. Has nothing to do with fuel economy.
I find that I never took the steering out of sport, and the feeling/sound of the throttle in various modes is obvious enough to not need the modes displayed in front of me; and the MDM/DSC OFF is always visible, so I wasn't missing not having that.
I'm glad this car gives different options to satisfy different needs/desires!
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2020, 05:42 PM   #25
Killed by Death
HMFIC
Killed by Death's Avatar
United_States
290
Rep
423
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizza240 View Post
The gauge under the RPM cluster essentially shows how much fuel is being delivered to the engine under current throttle.
You can turn this off. A lot of people don't like it for some reason. I like having it. It's nice to get an idea of how much fuel you're using at a given moment. It also reminds me of the E30/older BMWs.
I hate it, can be changed to show sport modes. F fuel consumption in a sports car IMHO
__________________
2020 M2C, HS, Black 788M, Exec.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 08:10 AM   #26
Conissah
Captain
Conissah's Avatar
871
Rep
789
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2C
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarg33 View Post
Sounds easy enough.

Any reason for the BMC filters over say...K&N? I haven't looked at either, just wondering.
No particular reason no, just BMC is recommended by a lot of people here and they are quality pieces. K&N are usually oiled, and I personally HATE oiled filters.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 08:54 AM   #27
richard in NC
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
326
Rep
1,700
Posts

Drives: 2009 Z4 35i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conissah View Post
I didn't know you could program them. I have my buttons set to satellite stations, might have to look into this.
Simple, go into the iDrive menu you want to program, press and hold down the shortcut button to program. It should beep to indicate successful. Sometimes you have to be on the screen you want, other times to be on the parent screen with the function you want highlighted such as the HP/torque screen.

A nice shortcut for changing M1 or M2. Instead of navigating iDrive, simply use the console buttons to change individual settings including shift speed, MDM, etc. Then press and hold an M button to program. It will beep to confirm. Note if programming MDM, or DSC off, it will require a 2nd press of M1 or M2 to activate (not during programming...).

I normally program M1 to be sport settings (on road fun) and M2 for MDM or DSC off (track fun). But often play with different settings to try them out. As noted in my autocross thread, MDM and sport+ throttle gives plenty of tail out action.

PS: I've got my econ gauge changed to show the M mode settings. Handy for confirming what they are set to.
__________________
2018 M550i: Med Blue, Mocha : Exec Pkg, Driver Asst & Plus, DHP, 759s, More...
2020 M2 Comp, Sunset Orange/Blk: Orange stitching, DCT, exec pkg, bicolor rims
Gone '16 X4 M40i, '15 M5, '13 X3 35i, '12 335is, '11 X5 50i, '09 Z4 35i, '08 550i, 06 X3, 06 650i, '02 M5, '99 540i
Appreciate 2
pizza240156.00
Moflow613.50

      02-14-2020, 09:18 AM   #28
kpham
Private
United_States
178
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 535i & LBB 6MT M2C
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

iTrader: (0)

I like to drive until I'm lost somewhere in the boonies, and when I'm ready to go home, I hit my preset button (in my case 8). The NAV takes me home. Basically you can preset a destination on your NAV. Comes in handy and you don't have to tinker with entering an address while driving.
Appreciate 1
      02-14-2020, 10:11 AM   #29
BigKutta
Major
BigKutta's Avatar
United_States
556
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C, 2012 528i, 2017 Q7
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Washington DC Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 528i  [0.00]
2012 BMW 528i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard in NC View Post
A nice shortcut for changing M1 or M2. Instead of navigating iDrive, simply use the console buttons to change individual settings including shift speed, MDM, etc. Then press and hold an M button to program. It will beep to confirm. Note if programming MDM, or DSC off, it will require a 2nd press of M1 or M2 to activate (not during programming...).
Nice. Didnt know about the M1 / 2 programming this way. thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 10:14 AM   #30
BigKutta
Major
BigKutta's Avatar
United_States
556
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C, 2012 528i, 2017 Q7
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Washington DC Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 528i  [0.00]
2012 BMW 528i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpham View Post
I like to drive until I'm lost somewhere in the boonies, and when I'm ready to go home, I hit my preset button (in my case 8). The NAV takes me home. Basically you can preset a destination on your NAV. Comes in handy and you don't have to tinker with entering an address while driving.
Yeah, I have the Home address programmed in the 5, but hardly ever used it so used a button for something else. I was assuming I can just hit the voice recognition and say "navigate home" and it would fire up the directions to get home. I have never done this in my M2, but thats how it works in my wife's Audi. I'm not even sure we have voice recognition in our M2s, do we? And would that work? LOL, I'm so happy driving this car I barely tinker around with the features
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 12:48 PM   #31
pizza240
Private First Class
156
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: 2019 M2C 6MT HS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post
Yeah, I have the Home address programmed in the 5, but hardly ever used it so used a button for something else. I was assuming I can just hit the voice recognition and say "navigate home" and it would fire up the directions to get home. I have never done this in my M2, but thats how it works in my wife's Audi. I'm not even sure we have voice recognition in our M2s, do we? And would that work? LOL, I'm so happy driving this car I barely tinker around with the features
Yes and yes. The voice recognition in the M2C is really good! Works similar to Audi.
After pressing the button on the wheel, "go home", "home address", and "take me home" all work for me.
The other common command I use is "cancel route" when I'm close enough to find my way home.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 01:42 PM   #32
xxyion
Second Lieutenant
101
Rep
230
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Competition
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Fremont CA

iTrader: (0)

Can you program the buttons to do stuff with Carplay? I much prefer the CarPlay map and spotify interface to that of idrive
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2020, 03:12 PM   #33
Moflow
Lieutenant
Moflow's Avatar
United_States
614
Rep
408
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizza240 View Post
Yes and yes. The voice recognition in the M2C is really good! Works similar to Audi.
After pressing the button on the wheel, "go home", "home address", and "take me home" all work for me.
The other common command I use is "cancel route" when I'm close enough to find my way home.
The problem is, whenever I use the navigation/voice recognition i swear i'm always going somewhere to get asian food. Yifang bubble tea? Yeah. Couldn't make that one work. Uwajimaya supermarket? Nope. Not in a million years.

Thankfully, i've gotten it to recognize my favorite mexican place by saying "BMW, take me to Pablo why Pablo" (the place is Pablo y Pablo.)
Appreciate 2
cptobvious2019.00
ROASTM27.00

      02-15-2020, 09:31 AM   #34
BigKutta
Major
BigKutta's Avatar
United_States
556
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C, 2012 528i, 2017 Q7
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Washington DC Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 528i  [0.00]
2012 BMW 528i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxyion View Post
Can you program the buttons to do stuff with Carplay? I much prefer the CarPlay map and spotify interface to that of idrive
No. Access to this feature is the reason why I no longer connect via CarPlay, and just connect via Bluetooth.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 09:39 AM   #35
Phil335i
Private First Class
26
Rep
111
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Comp
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Huntsville, Alabama USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post
The most underappreciated feature offered by BMW. I wish my Audi and Merc had this. Here is my programming:

1. Phone Book search
2. Wife number
3. Kid number
4. Kid number
5. Bluetooth audio
6. Audio Presets
7. Tire Pressure Display
8. Performance Display (HP, Torque)
Have you gotten your tire pressure display button to go straight to the pressure reading display? I'm only able to get it to the recalibrate page by pressing a button and then have to go back to the pressure reading page.
__________________
2020 M2 Comp | HS | Blue Trim | 6MT | Exec Pkg | Black Wheels

2007 335i | Crimson | Saddle Brown | 6MT | Sport | Dinan S1 Pkg | Active Steering | Premium | Nav | CA | PDC | Sat Radio SOLD

Last edited by Phil335i; 02-15-2020 at 09:52 AM..
Appreciate 1
Supernaut365.00

      02-15-2020, 09:57 AM   #36
BigKutta
Major
BigKutta's Avatar
United_States
556
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2C, 2012 528i, 2017 Q7
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Washington DC Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 528i  [0.00]
2012 BMW 528i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil335i View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post
The most underappreciated feature offered by BMW. I wish my Audi and Merc had this. Here is my programming:

1. Phone Book search
2. Wife number
3. Kid number
4. Kid number
5. Bluetooth audio
6. Audio Presets
7. Tire Pressure Display
8. Performance Display (HP, Torque)
Have you gotten your tire pressure display button to go straight to the pressure reading display? I'm only able to get it to the recalibrate page by pressing a button and then have to go back to the pressure reading page.
Yes I have. In some cases you have to be on the actual screen/page when programming. In some cases you have to be a page or screen behind, and then press the program button. Play around and try this.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 10:51 AM   #37
HazChem
Second Lieutenant
United_States
63
Rep
280
Posts

Drives: 2019 BSM M2C
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NW Ohio

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2019 BMW M2C  [0.00]
2008 335i Coupe  [0.00]
I programmed one of the buttons to bring up Maps in CarPlay. It’ll bring up whatever the last active map I had used so it always brings up Waze for me.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 03:49 PM   #38
flybigjet
Remove Before Flight
flybigjet's Avatar
United_States
701
Rep
422
Posts

Drives: a light twin from Boeing.
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conissah View Post
No particular reason no, just BMC is recommended by a lot of people here and they are quality pieces. K&N are usually oiled, and I personally HATE oiled filters.
I thought the BMC's were oiled as well?

From TMS:

"Looking to upgrade your air filter for increased flow and performance? BMC filter allow significantly higher air flow and are perfectly molded in one piece to fit exactly the same as your stock air filter. These filters are constructed from multi-layerd cotton gauze that is pre-oiled and can be cleaned and regenerated using the BMC regeneration kit."
Appreciate 1
Conissah870.50

      02-15-2020, 04:13 PM   #39
SEAT TIME RULES
HAZMAT
SEAT TIME RULES's Avatar
289
Rep
459
Posts

Drives: 20 BMW M2C 17 Mazda MX-5 RF
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: "Get Busy Living, or Get busy Dying"

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW M2C  [0.00]
I have the AK Motion Display. Works great and has tons more features than the P3 V3.

https://burkhart-engineering.com/54486en
__________________
2005-2006 BMWCCA Boston Chapter president
2004 Mazda Rev It Up Finalist
2002-Present HPDE Instructor
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 09:27 PM   #40
Supernaut
Little Deuce Coupe
Supernaut's Avatar
United_States
365
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: SO M2C
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil335i View Post
Have you gotten your tire pressure display button to go straight to the pressure reading display? I'm only able to get it to the recalibrate page by pressing a button and then have to go back to the pressure reading page.
I have tried to program this several times with the same result.

It programmed fine on my M235's iDrive.
__________________
ex: 2004 Thermonuclear Yellow RX-8|6MT
ex: 2015 Estoril Blue M235i |6MT|slicktop|MP exhaust - PCD
2020 Sunset Orange M2C|6MT|Black 788s
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 09:09 AM   #41
CTSean
Second Lieutenant
154
Rep
256
Posts

Drives: LCI BSM MT M2
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: CT

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil335i View Post
Have you gotten your tire pressure display button to go straight to the pressure reading display? I'm only able to get it to the recalibrate page by pressing a button and then have to go back to the pressure reading page.
I can confirm the tire pressure/temp display has to be "bookmarked" from the prior screen to get the shortcut button to work correctly.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 08:59 PM   #42
Phil335i
Private First Class
26
Rep
111
Posts

Drives: 2020 M2 Comp
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Huntsville, Alabama USA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, will give it a try.
__________________
2020 M2 Comp | HS | Blue Trim | 6MT | Exec Pkg | Black Wheels

2007 335i | Crimson | Saddle Brown | 6MT | Sport | Dinan S1 Pkg | Active Steering | Premium | Nav | CA | PDC | Sat Radio SOLD

Last edited by Phil335i; 02-16-2020 at 09:04 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 10:35 PM   #43
bubsterino
First Lieutenant
56
Rep
362
Posts

Drives: none
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moflow View Post
Those shortcut buttons can be programmed to do almost any function in the infotainment, I have button 1 set to have the navigation system take me home. Button 6 immediately plays initial D music.
The most underappreciated feature offered by BMW. I wish my Audi and Merc had this. Here is my programming:

1. Phone Book search
2. Wife number
3. Kid number
4. Kid number
5. Bluetooth audio
6. Audio Presets
7. Tire Pressure Display
8. Performance Display (HP, Torque)
one other shortcut i like is to add "split screen" - I like having it during NAV but other times it's nice to have full screen.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2020, 11:55 PM   #44
hlm2c
Private First Class
United_States
93
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Korea

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supernaut View Post
I have tried to program this several times with the same result.

It programmed fine on my M235's iDrive.
It is possible to program straight to tire pressure readings page, that's how mine is set up.. I can't remember exactly how since it was over 6 months ago since I programmed it, but play around with it some more. It's possible!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST