BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Total noob needs help getting M2C track ready

10-28-2019, 10:21 PM   #1
swootdaddy
Rep
Drives: M2 Competition

Total noob needs help getting M2C track ready

Hi all,

so I'm new to these forums but hopefully this is the most relevant place to ask for help for my situation.

I'm signed up for a trackday event next month at Willow Springs (Big Willow). It will be my first time on that track and my first time tracking my new M2C. I've done other track driving sessions before but they've always been in rentals.

For context, I know essentially nothing about setting up, upgrading, or maintaining vehicles. The most complex task I've ever performed is an oil change, never even changed a tire. Growing up my parents had no interest in cars at all and neither did my friends, thus I never learned anything about them. I've only had the chance to start "getting into" cars over the last year and a half after I discovered sim racing and actually started to make enough money to be able to even consider driving decent cars (I'm young compared to most car/track enthusiasts). However everything I've learned is on the performance driving side of things, like I said I still basically know nothing about the mechanical side.

Anyways like I said, I'm signed up for an open trackday event next month at Big Willow, and I intend to use my new M2C for the event. The event requires a tech inspection, I'll link the tech inspection list down below. Before I go out and buy tools and start tinkering away at an expensive piece of machinery that I know nothing about I'd like to ask some questions to you fine gentleman (and ladies?).

After doing a little reading here, it seems that upgrading the brake pads, fluids, and camber plates are essentially a necessity to be able to properly drive an M2C on track.

1. My first question is if this is true?