BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Competition Model > Sonoma Track Days?

04-15-2024, 10:42 AM   #1
Henry428
Private
Rep
Drives: M2C

Sonoma Track Days?

Anyone here taken their M2C to a Sonoma track day? I've never done this before and thought it might be fun but I'm a little intimidated-I'm no pro driver, just someone who wants to experience my car to the full extent of my own abilities in a relatively safe manner. Would a track day be welcoming?
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2024, 11:23 AM   #2
OG Shark
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Rep

Drives: Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry428 View Post
Anyone here taken their M2C to a Sonoma track day? I've never done this before and thought it might be fun but I'm a little intimidated-I'm no pro driver, just someone who wants to experience my car to the full extent of my own abilities in a relatively safe manner. Would a track day be welcoming?
I haven't been to Sonoma in particular but track days (HPDEs) are typically very welcoming. Usually for a new driver they will pair you with an instructor which helps tremendously. They are also usually slotted by experience/pace with the understanding in the novice group the drivers are typically working on the fundamentals and getting up to speed. Rules are set as such and you usually are with the instructor until you pass a check ride ok'ing you to go solo.

Make sure the car is sound, has good track pads and fluid, tires are in good shape - and go have fun! Will warn you though it can be very addicting...
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2024, 11:54 AM   #3
DanG
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M2 AW DCT

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [7.68]
Make sure it is an HPDE at the track. BMWCCA events are one of the best to join. You will need a helmet and pass a track inspection before the event. Here is a link to HPDE at your track: https://hpdejunkie.com/locations/sonoma-raceway/
      04-15-2024, 02:51 PM   #4
Brokenbones
Private First Class
Rep