BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Roll center correction - track cars

09-26-2022, 05:26 PM   #1
blitzyo
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 19' M2C

Roll center correction - track cars

Right now I have my outer ball joint (front/rear lca) slightly higher than the inner ball joint.
Should I have them exactly level?
Is the outer allowed to be slightly higher or vice versa?
Do people add driver weight in the car when checking this?

I'm not technical enough to calculate the roll center or instant center etc.

Is there a guideline for eye balling it, so I don't have badly setup car at the very least?

Or am I better off not messing with roll center correction and let springs and dampers manage it?

Last edited by blitzyo; 09-27-2022 at 04:29 AM..
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2022, 09:33 PM   #2
SCMTX
Private
Rep
Drives: F87 M2C, exesE92 M3, F82, F30

Did you ever get any answers on this topic?
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2023, 01:20 PM   #3
blitzyo
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 19' M2C

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCMTX View Post
Did you ever get any answers on this topic?
Nope, I've just got the all arms fairly parallel to each other and to the ground now.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2023, 11:35 AM   #4
rbahr
Private
Rep
Drives: To many & not enough

Roll centers move dynamically

I would suggest that you measure Bump - front and rear, adjust if necessary, corner balance and leave it at that, and yes put your equivalent weight in the drivers seat. I asked some folks and was unable to get information on roll centers and bump correction.

Ray
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2023, 10:19 PM   #5
D.Yooras
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW M2 MY18

Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzyo View Post
Right now I have my outer ball joint (front/rear lca) slightly higher than the inner ball joint.
Should I have them exactly level?
Is the outer allowed to be slightly higher or vice versa?
Do people add driver weight in the car when checking this?