BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > M4 GTS coded Traction and Steering – what it means to you

08-15-2019, 02:58 PM   #1
widetyres
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: M3 E92 DCT, 2012

M4 GTS coded Traction and Steering – what it means to you

[Updated with LSD/GHAS settings]

I thought it worth sharing the differences to be found with the M4 GTS coding – there are posts here and there which mention it’s “better”, but very little detail in terms of what differences are experienced. I’ve been using this now for a few months and love it!

The M4 GTS coding affects 2 areas: MDM mode, steering.

MDM Mode (applicable to M2 OG & LCI):

I was a little nervous about coding this (given all the press reports of how knife edge the M4 GTS is with regards to handling), but I needn’t have been worried! On the M2, the balance and grip offered by the chassis mean that GTS coding works very well and is very liveable day to day.

The GTS coding affects the MDM modes (Sport+, Traction), but not Comfort or Sport, which will still feel the same.
The most immediate thing I noticed (in Sport+), was how much sharper the turn in was, my initial thought was that this was related to the GTS steering coding (which we cover below), but then quickly realised that this was due to the diff being now free to do its job – unless you get to drive a GTS coded car, you will never fully comprehend how restraining the traction control is to the diff – now, the car’s direction can be easily changed on the throttle – the diff just gets stuck in (now free to do its job properly) and all that traction now helps the rear of the car push the front round (but not in a tail out smoking tyres sort of way) – it just feels so much more agile and it able to change direction much more quickly.