M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Brake temperatures

05-27-2020, 11:22 AM   #1
mr_lab_rat
Major
Rep
Drives: 2017 M2, 2018 X1

Brake temperatures

I'm new to tracking my car but I can already tell it's gonna be my new hobby

My first day was on a small track that's very hard on brakes. I noticed some fade once we started picking up speed (200kmh down to 60kmh hairpin).

I was on stock brakes with fresh OEM DOT4 fluid.

I checked rotor temps and I was up to 300C (572F).

Here are my questions -

1. Where should I measure temperature? On the rotor? Caliper? Where on the caliper?
2. How hot is too hot (for stock brakes)? At what temp will the calipers turn green?
3. In which order would you upgrade: pads, fluid, ducts
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2020, 01:44 PM   #2
5.M0NSTER
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 Camaro SS 1LE

Yes sir, you know once you're hooked!

As for your questions:

1) Measure both at the rotor, and at the center of the caliper (Or hottest point of caliper you can find). The rotor temp is good to know so you can choose the right pad, the caliper temperature in turn tells you what temps the brake fluid is exposed to.

2) Stock fluid is not made to take much over 300F, stock pads will fade at ~800F

Castrol SRF, Motul 600 or similar take your fade resistance when dry (no moisture from environment absorbed into the fluid) to about 600F

Proper track pad will take 1300-2000F before fading.

3) Pads and fluids at the same time, ducts after. You'll be good for a while with high temp pads and fluid. Ducts come later once you're rally pushing into the brake zones, and on throttle enough to minimize cooling off time between brake applies.

BIG HINT: It's also important to maintain the right braking technique ONCE you have the high temp pads AND fluid. Brake LATE AND HARD! Don't ride the brakes till the apex when you already slowed down. This is the fastest way to overheat your brakes.
2018 Camaro SS 1LE. Because race car!