BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip > Track mods 101

02-12-2021, 10:29 PM   #1
butraymond
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: bmw m2c

Track mods 101

I'm new to road course racing and I would like to do some mods on my new M2C. I'm planning to do 1-2 events/ month , about 15/ season. I want start from basic staffs and do each component once at a time so that I can feel the difference. Probably at very beginning will focus on safety, then handling, and later on to have more power. Here is my list and please feel free to comment!

PHASE 1 (year 1):
1. Brake Upgrade: Ferodo DS1.11 pads. Spiegler Stainless Steel brake lines.(necessary?), Castrol SRF
2. Install Fixed-Back Seats: Recaro Pole Position seats to run Schroth 4pt quickfit pro(had it in my old 435i). At this stage, I still want the rear seat and might install a roll cage in the future.
3. Run oem pss then cup2.

PHASE 2: (year 2-3)
1. Wheel & Tires (apex ec-7+slick tires)
2. GC Camber plate(Does this necessary from day 1? I do daily my car(not now WFH) and worry about city street crown and ruts, DC road sucks), Ohlins R&T.
3. Wheel alignment, corner balance.
4. AP brake kit. 

PHASE 3: (year 4, more HP)
1. Intake, cooling, 
2. Engine tune
3. Bolt in half cage. (Does welded cage considered as structural damage?)

Overall, I will definitely focus on having more seat time. Student driver always.
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2021, 11:01 PM   #2
bentom2
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M2

I’ve more or less done your phases 1 and 2 on my OG M2. Your plans look rational and well thought out overall.