BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > N55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > First Impressions - VRSF DP + Fabspeed Muffler Bypass

09-12-2019, 12:28 AM   #1
wassy4
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 340i

First Impressions - VRSF DP + Fabspeed Muffler Bypass

Hey all,

Finally was able to install the Fabspeed muffler bypass on my 2018 LCI. I've been running a VRSF catless downpipe for a few months now and it sounded great with the stock exhaust, but I found myself wanting a bit more. I was originally looking at valved catbacks such as Dinan, Active Autowerke, etc. but couldn't justify dropping more than $2k on an exhaust. This entire system was a bit over $600 including install (bought the Fabspeed used, retails for ~$1200). I got exactly what I paid for.

Install was very fast and took ~40 minutes, most of which was spent getting the pipe to hang correctly and adjusting the tips. The tips tend to hang low and are slightly offset. Also, for anyone curious, the tip size is 3.5". I'd personally like them to be a bit bigger.

I went into this expecting this setup to be extremely obnoxious. After all, this is basically a full straight pipe except for the stock resonator. The first start up after install proved me wrong and absolved me of my worries of how loud this system would be. Cold starts are very loud, as usual with aftermarket systems, but afterwards the overall volume level is perfect. What's weird is that the car seems to sound louder driving around than at WOT. I must have a high tolerance for loud, as I'm actually a little underwhelmed by it.