BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > N55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > BM3 N55 M2

10-15-2023, 02:22 PM   #1
romoguy15
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2020 X3 M Sport Sold:2016 M2

BM3 N55 M2

Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to the M2 world, purchased a 2016 with DCT back in May and only recently purchased the BM3 tune last week. I had a few questions I was hoping to get some input on.

First off, I have zero experience with this level tuning and only recently started to look into data logs and such. I did manage to get some logs today hoping that it will help in answering some questions. I am running OTS Stage 2 93 octane, and the only supporting mods for now is VSRF downpipe and charge pipe.

My first question is, can running 92 octane cause performance issues? I only ask because I honestly cannot remember if I put Shell 93 or Thorton's 92 that last time I fueled up. I know 93 octane is a must since that is the tune setting requirement. Idk if 1 octane less would cause performance issues.

Secondly, i had some general questions on some of the data points. Is 20.9 Boost Pre throttle correct, too much, or not enough? I don't quite have anything to compare it to, but at times it seems like the car is slightly being restricted or something. Maybe it's just in my head but I just want to be sure the tune is operating as expected and nothing is over working its self. I do not plan on going down the path of making it any faster as this is already more than plenty and I would like to keep it running as reliable as possible. Any feedback or help is appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Hopefully logs are usable. I tried to follow the instructions online. Very new to the tuning world and will take any suggestions. Want to learn as much as possible. I pulled in 3rd gear at 2500rpm.

https://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=652c...90c6dcc7949be3

https://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=652c...0b43b07e506ca0