BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Bimmercode topics

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-03-2017, 09:40 AM   #111
Dabozo
Major
Dabozo's Avatar
565
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: M2 BSM MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Seat belt chime still not possible to switch off?
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 10:26 AM   #112
///Mē
Lieutenant
///Mē's Avatar
Canada
275
Rep
401
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M2 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabozo View Post
Seat belt chime still not possible to switch off?
I'm pretty sure we have the same dongle, how's the coding pretty straight forward, any hicups while doing so??
Attached Images
 
__________________
'17 BMW M2 LBB 6MT MPE
'13 BMW 335i Estoril Blue - sold
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2017, 07:33 PM   #113
bm2
Enlisted Member
bm2's Avatar
28
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: bmw m2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Ok so in order to go back with the asd or any other function that doesn't offer to code back to original, you must use the backup and approximate the time with which the original code was active!

Also for those annoyed by the seatbelt chime, I coded the chime and warnings to Bmw i, its warnings are softer and less intrusive when the dong is lowered under the tone menu!!!

Btw in the end I turned off ASD!!! Just wanted a comparison!!!
__________________
Bm
Appreciate 1
///Mē275.00

      02-03-2017, 08:21 PM   #114
///Mē
Lieutenant
///Mē's Avatar
Canada
275
Rep
401
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M2 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bm2 View Post
Ok so in order to go back with the asd or any other function that doesn't offer to code back to original, you must use the backup and approximate the time with which the original code was active!

Also for those annoyed by the seatbelt chime, I coded the chime and warnings to Bmw i, its warnings are softer and less intrusive when the dong is lowered under the tone menu!!!

Btw in the end I turned off ASD!!! Just wanted a comparison!!!
Thanks for the feedback, probably going to code this weekend, enjoy!
__________________
'17 BMW M2 LBB 6MT MPE
'13 BMW 335i Estoril Blue - sold
Appreciate 1
bm227.50

      02-04-2017, 11:18 AM   #115
Dabozo
Major
Dabozo's Avatar
565
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: M2 BSM MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bm2 View Post
Ok so in order to go back with the asd or any other function that doesn't offer to code back to original, you must use the backup and approximate the time with which the original code was active!

Also for those annoyed by the seatbelt chime, I coded the chime and warnings to Bmw i, its warnings are softer and less intrusive when the dong is lowered under the tone menu!!!

Btw in the end I turned off ASD!!! Just wanted a comparison!!!
this sounds like a pain in the ass...is it easy to reload a backed up file ie. idiot proof? sort of takes the fun out of experimenting if we have to restore a backup...and i would imagine doing so would also 'uncode' everything else youve done but didnt want to get rid of ie. have to enable everything all over again...small price to pay i guess for such a tidy little app though.

im going to try and use this for the first time later today...
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 12:06 PM   #116
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabozo View Post
i would imagine doing so would also 'uncode' everything else youve done but didnt want to get rid of ie. have to enable everything all over again...
It is idiot proof. It retains multiple backups, so you can go back to whichever one you liked best. Code everything you want, then if you break something the next time you code, you can just restore the previous backup.

The only things you do lose each time you code are presets and equalizer settings. No biggie.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 12:09 PM   #117
bm2
Enlisted Member
bm2's Avatar
28
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: bmw m2
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabozo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bm2 View Post
Ok so in order to go back with the asd or any other function that doesn't offer to code back to original, you must use the backup and approximate the time with which the original code was active!

Also for those annoyed by the seatbelt chime, I coded the chime and warnings to Bmw i, its warnings are softer and less intrusive when the dong is lowered under the tone menu!!!

Btw in the end I turned off ASD!!! Just wanted a comparison!!!
this sounds like a pain in the ass...is it easy to reload a backed up file ie. idiot proof? sort of takes the fun out of experimenting if we have to restore a backup...and i would imagine doing so would also 'uncode' everything else youve done but didnt want to get rid of ie. have to enable everything all over again...small price to pay i guess for such a tidy little app though.

im going to try and use this for the first time later today...
Technically you only back up the current option and window you're on; not the entire coding!
__________________
Bm
Appreciate 1
///Mē275.00

      02-04-2017, 12:12 PM   #118
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bm2 View Post
Technically you only back up the current option and window you're on; not the entire coding!
Each electronic module is backed up and coded separately, yes. Very handy.
Appreciate 1
///Mē275.00

      02-04-2017, 05:53 PM   #119
Dabozo
Major
Dabozo's Avatar
565
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: M2 BSM MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Well looks like my first attempt didn't go so well. It left me preferring a hard wired connection tbh.
I was having some initial connection issues (dropping out) and eventually realized the dongle was not firmly seated, presumably. I hadn't yet attempted to 'code' when all of this was happening. But when I went to code for the first time the connection died again! Afterwards upon reconnect the FEM module was 'unknown'.
I restored the very first backup with no connection issues thankfully but then the car shut off. I'm assuming this was normal since when I connected again, all modules were fine.
Needless to say, that was quite the scare!
What could be the worst that can happen? I'm assuming/hoping that so long as there is a viable back up we are pretty safe correct?
Appreciate 1
///Mē275.00

      02-04-2017, 07:34 PM   #120
Benef1cient
First Lieutenant
Benef1cient's Avatar
Poland
280
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: '18 LBB M2 LCI 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Guys is the iCar2 4.0 Bluetooth LE also working with Bimmercode?
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2017, 08:40 PM   #121
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabozo View Post
I restored the very first backup with no connection issues thankfully but then the car shut off. I'm assuming this was normal since when I connected again, all modules were fine.
Needless to say, that was quite the scare!
The front electronic module always reboots when you code it. If your car is running (not necessary) the engine will stop as a result. Normal behavior. I don't code with the engine running, personally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benef1cient View Post
Guys is the iCar2 4.0 Bluetooth LE also working with Bimmercode?
WiFi is the version recommended by BimmerCode's developer.

Last edited by ried; 02-05-2017 at 11:42 AM..
Appreciate 3
///Mē275.00
BAN_M2C3172.00
ewohar12.50

      02-05-2017, 07:55 AM   #122
rwgeld58
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 2017 M2
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Actually mirror folding works for me in my 17 with latest version. Just takes a prolonged press and I haven't gone back in to remove the comfort closing delay. Think I may like it, brief press just for lock and prolonged when I want mirrors folded.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 08:05 AM   #123
DivideBYZero
Never underestimate the Home-Bowl
DivideBYZero's Avatar
United Kingdom
462
Rep
822
Posts

Drives: F87 M2<E92 M3<E46 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benef1cient View Post
Guys is the iCar2 4.0 Bluetooth LE also working with Bimmercode?
Don't use Bluetooth devices with iOS. None of the OBD Bluetooth devices are reliable enough for this. This isn't a BimmerCode thing, it's an iOS/BT thing.

Only use WiFi units. No excuses.
__________________
2017 F87 M2, MG, M-DCT
2002 E36/7 Z3 2.2 Sport 5MT
2016 F22 M235i Coupe, MW, ZF8
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 09:22 AM   #124
zenmaster
Brigadier General
United_States
1530
Rep
3,892
Posts

Drives: '17 M2
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (1)

Confirming what others have pointed out, comfortable mirror folding does work now.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 09:58 AM   #125
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

R0ME0 Sounds like others are doing this just fine with the public release. Still no love with your new '17?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 11:31 AM   #126
R0ME0
&quot;The Midas Touch&quot;
R0ME0's Avatar
492
Rep
1,081
Posts

Drives: F87 LBB ///M2
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2017 M2  [5.00]
2008 Z4M - SOLD  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ried View Post
R0ME0 Sounds like others are doing this just fine with the public release. Still no love with your new '17?
All working now. My iPad was playing tricks on me. Folding and unfolding works on MY17 as well flawlessly. Set it to no delay.
Appreciate 1
ried619.00

      02-05-2017, 12:31 PM   #127
zenmaster
Brigadier General
United_States
1530
Rep
3,892
Posts

Drives: '17 M2
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (1)

It finally stops telling you to pay for coding after you've already bought it.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 12:56 PM   #128
R0ME0
&quot;The Midas Touch&quot;
R0ME0's Avatar
492
Rep
1,081
Posts

Drives: F87 LBB ///M2
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2017 M2  [5.00]
2008 Z4M - SOLD  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
It finally stops telling you to pay for coding after you've already bought it.
It was more like my auto update didn't actually update the app. LOL "user error"
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 05:01 PM   #129
BimmerSpain
Private First Class
BimmerSpain's Avatar
Spain
73
Rep
196
Posts

Drives: Coming Soon Bmw M2
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Asturias,North of Spain

iTrader: (2)

Any try this in expert mode:

In the HU_NBT2 Module:

3000 -> HMI_ID_VERSION set to: id6_light (id5_plus_plus is default)

Is for the idrive 6!!

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 10:04 PM   #130
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

What does that change, exactly?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 10:14 PM   #131
///Mē
Lieutenant
///Mē's Avatar
Canada
275
Rep
401
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M2 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ried View Post
What does that change, exactly?
It's the new UI that's compatible for idrive 5 equipped cars with full functionality, ID4 you lose Nav, as posted in other threads.

Check it out.

http://f87.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...256559&page=89

#1958
__________________
'17 BMW M2 LBB 6MT MPE
'13 BMW 335i Estoril Blue - sold
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2017, 10:44 PM   #132
ried
Captain
ried's Avatar
United_States
619
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F31, F87
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (2)

Is there any reason why someone would not use this iDrive 6 Light UI? Do we lose any functionality by making the change?
Appreciate 1
rjn41.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.




m2
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST