BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Help! Coding in a replacement HK amplifier

07-23-2023, 04:34 AM   #1
blahblahman
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW M2C (F87), BMW 520d (G30)

Help! Coding in a replacement HK amplifier

Hey everyone!

I’ve been a lurker here for some time, and I’ve gotten a ton of very useful information for a bunch of issues over the years. I’m new to coding (the most I’ve done is reviewing faults in ISTA on my G30). I need some help coding in a replacement part, and either my issue is too specific, or I’m an idiot, but I can’t seem to find a step-by-step anywhere. Given the chances of doing something wrong, I’m reaching out to all you geniuses for guidance!

TL;DR
Have an out-of-warranty 2018-11 manufactured/2019-02 registered F87 (M2C) that had water get into the HK amp. Ordered a replacement HK amp from another model (which realOEM says is replaceable) and swapped them out. Sound is ok, audio is back. But BimmerCode shows “Coding data invalid” for the amplifier, ISTA showed “recode” on the AMP ECU, and E-Sys code/read coding options are greyed out on the AMPH ECU. I believe I need to flash/recode the new amp into the car, but I have no idea how and am afraid of making things worse. Total noob, so any help is helpful.

Background:
I was away a few weeks ago and the GF was driving my car. Randomly on a hot day, the car got the dreaded deafening popping and buzzing from the speakers a few weeks ago, accompanied with a small burning smell. After a few mins, all sound disappeared, with nothing coming from the speakers (stereo, parking sensors, fuel warning bong, etc). When I got back, I removed all the boot lining, pulled out the amp, and sure enough; fried AMP. Popped it open and could see the water marks on the outside casing, and the fried circuit board on the inside. It was dead.