BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Wheels / Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Winter is coming!

09-21-2022, 02:48 PM   #1
CamJam_F87
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW M2

Winter is coming!

Hey y'all,
This is my first year with the M2 and I am looking for the best winter wheel and tire setup.

Right now I'm looking at a set of Enkeis 18x8.5 +35
I was going to pair them with squared 245/40/18 winters

Does anyone have any better recommendations on sizing or tire? I'm unsure which tire brand I wanna go with, I went with Michelin pa4s 2 years for my other car but I've seen people say I should get better winters for a RWD car, and honestly I'm down to pass on Michelins pricing.

Any help or photos would be great. Still trying to get an idea on wheel and tire I want and really just need concrete evidence on a size that works!
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      09-25-2022, 06:00 PM   #2
Brokenbones
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: M2c and S2000

How much snow driving do you see yourself doing?

Worked in hospital so needed to get to work with my rwd daily driver in snow sleet all winter. Got to work on days many suvs on all seasons didn’t.

I ran reasonably aggressive conti Vikings last 8-9 years between s2000 and m2. Reasonably priced in past, dunno after Covid supply BS though.

narrow 215 on s200 and 235 on m2 gave great traction on snow until they started wearing out at around 3 seasons and 8k miles. Probably could’ve done tire off rotation to extend life? Dry and wet traction wasn’t great…

Buddy ran pirelli performance winters on his 996, they were much better in dry and did decent enough in snow
Appreciate 1
      09-25-2022, 07:20 PM   #3
billypopo
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Bmw 435i GC, glacier silver

Had Nokian r3 235/45/18 if I recall correctly which is the only size that fits the M2 (in Nokian's lineup). Loved them. The M2 was my daily and I live in a nasty winter condition area (Qc - Canada).