BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Discussions > Any regrets among M2 owners on here?

08-03-2016, 08:34 PM   #1
bruin1md
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 Toyota 4runner TRD Pro

Any regrets among M2 owners on here?

Let me preface:

I'm selling my 2011 997.2 GTS and have ordered a M2 in LBB/6MT/exec package (and getting a lot of flack for it on the Rennlist forum).

However.......I'm also a new manual driver (the 911's tranny was PDK) and I learned on a pretty tough car-- the WRX.

Getting an appreciation for low end torque on a turbo 4 with a very heavy clutch pedal has been quite the education.

Well I've also learned some things about what I like.......... the WRX is quick, the intake sounds are 'interesting', and AWD is probably going to feel much different than driving a 6MT RWD M2.
I also learned that I love a NA V8 more than any turbo exhaust I've heard, especially the one in the 2016 Camaro SS (motor trend car of the year).

I'm actually kind of torn now on what to do. A part of me wants to scratch the itch for American muscle in either the Camaro SS , or possibly the new ZL1-- which comes out later this year. I've only owned German (Cayman S, Audi S5, BMW X6, and now a 911 GTS).
The Camaro rides so much better on our crappy roads in south Louisiana, and I have some reservations about both the suspension in sport mode on the M2 (from what I read) as well as the turbo 6 on it.
On the plus side, I'm guessing the gear ratios are much shorter with M2 so it's probably fun to drive in a 6MT for those who like to shift frequently ?
I've watched the videos and heard the exhaust but I'm not completely sold on it and wanted people's inputs from exhaust sound, to daily driving, suspension feel, etc......

It won't be a track car for now, but could be as I get better with a 6MT over time.