BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Discussions > Rev Matching in Sport+ '18??

10-19-2017, 07:18 PM   #1
Jsaint
Rep
Drives: '18 M2 MG 6MT

Rev Matching in Sport+ '18??

I'd like to preface this post with the following caveat:

This is the first BMW and RWD vehicle that I have personally owned.

Okay, next. I've been following these threads for a while but have not been an active poster. I have had my M since Oct 6th (yay PCD!) and have been reluctant to engage Sport+ as its my baby and all.

Well, today I finally did and DSC being off is NOT what surprised me the most. I've been an M/T driver since I was 16 (26 now) so driving a manual properly is pretty much second nature to me at this point. However, in the two weeks that I've driven the car I can say that I am completely spoiled by the rev match function. It is perfect during the daily commute and its almost like I 'forgot' how to do it on my own once disabled for the first time.

Anyways, this evening while driving home from work I decided to have a little fun and shut the nannies off. Everything behaved how I expected it to, even the extra slippage. At some point during the drive I had to use the restroom BAD and traffic was a lot heavier than normal, especially for the time of day, so it could not wait until I got home. Had to do an emergency pull off on an exit to get to an MCD.

The interesting part is when I got back to my car.

Naturally we all know (I think?) that everything defaults back to comfort when you turn the car on.

"But I still want to have some fun!"

So I hit the buttons and get back on the road. Now I am not sure how long I hit what or in what sequence but I was in Sport+ and when pulling away I noticed that the Rev Match was ON!

"Huh? How? I thought Sport+ was the only way that you could turn everything OFF?"