BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash/Wax/Detailing/Exterior Restoration & Repairs) > Wash, Dry and Polish 101

04-17-2017, 03:53 PM   #1
quikM2
Captain
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2017 Jahre M3

Wash, Dry and Polish 101

I'm no expert when it comes to washing by hand but with this car I would like to get into it. I've heard many talk about two bucket method and big red mitt etc. Can some share what they do and what they use? Like a Stage 1 kit for a hand wash, how they do it and what products used.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2017, 04:31 PM   #2
nd2002
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2017 M2

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikM2 View Post
I'm no expert when it comes to washing by hand but with this car I would like to get into it. I've heard many talk about two bucket method and big red mitt etc. Can some share what they do and what they use? Like a Stage 1 kit for a hand wash, how they do it and what products used.
Hand wash:

Needed: Pressure washer, foam cannon, 2 buckets with grit guard and wash mitt, drying towels

One bucket should have water and the other can have a soap solution...

1. Rinse car with pressure washer to clean loose dust and dirt.
2. Foam cannon every panel (optional, but saves time)
3. Go over the car with a wash mitt in straight lines front to back (no circles)
4. Squeeze out excess water and dirt in the bucket with water.
5. Dunk in the other bucket of soap and repeat until all panels are washed.
6. Rinse again
7. Dry

Tons of soap options, but Adams products have been solid. Their H20 Guard and Gloss is awesome for drying and shining at the same time.
Appreciate 1
quikM2371.00
      04-17-2017, 05:50 PM   #3
salmonbum
Banned
Rep

In each bucket, use a grit guard. After each soap pass with microfiber mitt, put it in water bucket and scrub the mit on grit guard. Dirt will fall off and sink to bottom. Basically rinsing the mitt after every pass.