09-14-2016, 03:43 PM   #1
Nicname
Lieutenant Colonel
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2021 M2C

Drive options and modes for manual vs dct

Hey guys,

I'm currently coming from a tuned 08' 997.1 turbo. This was my 2nd manual car ever. A family member was selling the car at a great price and I jumped on it. Before that I had an e92 M2 DCT and a 1997 335i manual where I learned how to drive manual. My other cars before that where also automatic (a4 and Lexus LX)

I've been driving the turbo for almost 2 years now from NJ to NYC daily and have developed a love hate relationship with it. When I hit my shifts, there's no better feeling but I feel as if this car is very unforgiving when you don't hit perfect shifts. Its a pain in the morning with my slow shifts (5:30 driving) but at the same time it forces me to be awake. In the afternoons, its a joy if theres no traffic but this is NYC to NJ and theres always some traffic.

I had my heart set out to get a LBB DCT until this Saturday when I drove a friends 2016 Boxter S in manual... Man what a joy it was to use some a modern 6 spd. It was so smooth and simple that it almost had me sold on buying a new 6 spd. This is the first modern manual I have driven. I'm not sure if I've been so used to driving "older less forgiving manual" but it was so simple to shift in his car. When he drove mine, he had some difficulty hitting great shifts and noted the car is much less forgiving.

As I did my research I see the m2 rev matches when downshifting. I don't have the best amount of training in heel toe so I'm actually very excited by this option but wanted to understand in what modes it works with and when it doesn't. It seems it won't work in sport plus but is that the mode where I would want to drive the car in most? If so, losing the rev match is a bummer for me since I'm not sold on manual just yet.